On a Walkabout


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
December 9th 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The BillabongThe BillabongThe Billabong

Our lunch was taken at a quiet billabong.
So after wandering around Sydney, and being lazy on a beach in Manly, I've decided that I really am not the biggest fan of Sydney. It's just too much! The beach at Manly was nice, but Sydney is noisy and busy, and reminds me a bit of NYC. Not very impressed.

But I am a fan of the Blue Mountains and Evan and his wonderful Walkabout Tour. I decided to escape the hustle and bustle and noise and poshiness (is that even a word?) of Sydney and head to the Blue Mountains. I also decided I wanted to a book a tour that would take me off the beaten track, and it's always good to support the small local guys, right?

It was worth every penny and then some. We did a challenging 8km hike up and down hills and rocks; climbed in spots that I would never have dreamed of climbing; found lots of really cool sculpted rocks and caves; found evidence of past Aboriginal presence; and got a wonderful introduction to the Darug culture and some of the stories that one might hear in a walkabout. It was absolutely fantastic.

I'm not sure what I came to
Cool caves!Cool caves!Cool caves!

Absolutely fantastic rock formations!
Australia looking for, but I think it's experiences like this that I came searching for. It left me feeling very at ease and calm, and it seemed very strange to be back in Sydney. A bit of a culture shock after hiking all day in wilderness, hearing kookaburras, cockatoos, and various other birds, seeing lizards and great water spiders (the size of a man's hand, I'm not kidding).

And the walkabout gave me a bit of an analogy for this trip. A walkabout is part of the multiple initiations that one goes through to become "adult". On a walkabout you learn and discover new things, and you emerge from the walkabout a different person. You may laugh at me for being metaphorical, but this trip to Oz is sort of a walkabout for me.




And what about those ducks, you ask? Well, Aesop told Gulliver that you have to watch out for the drop-bears. They're a form of koalas that are really dangerous...they especially go for unsuspecting tourists and little glow-in-the-dark duckies. They drop down from the trees and claw you, causing some nasty wounds. Gulliver thus hid in the bag all day. And Aesop was
Rock carvingsRock carvingsRock carvings

A little water makes these carvings come to life.
a bit jetlagged, so he slept all day. Too bad, cuz they both missed some wonderful scenery.

Tonight I'm off to the capital, Canberra.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 30; qc: 143; dbt: 0.1987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb