Sydney by boat - and my BITE!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Harbour
November 13th 2010
Published: November 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I decided to go to central Sydney by boat and took plenty of pictures like I said I would! I bought myself a multi-card (lets you go on all types of transport for the day) and got the train to Parramatta. From here I hopped on a rivercat to Sydney. The boat took 1 hr but the sun was shining and you go past some lovely houses on on the way - how the other half live!! Making our way into Curcular Quays we went under the Harbour Bridge and I got a photo of the bridge and the Opera House together - been waiting to take one of these.
Once docked, I walked through the botanical gardens taking lots of pictures. I also saw the bats in the park, quite scary when they fly over you - they were huge! Then I got bitten! Something bit my leg, I didn't see what it was, but I definately saw something black. My leg started to redden and swell. Having heard many a story about dealdly insects in Australia I headed to the pharmacy. When I told them what had happened, the sale girl's face said it all, she looked shocked and scared!! Made me feel great. Once the chemist warned me about more swelling and going to the hospital if it got worse etc, he handed me some cream. The cream made it all better - so nothing serious, don't want you all panicking at home! 😊
I also got the boat over to Manly to see my first Aussie beach and surfers. Manly is really nice, there are a lot of beaches and it has a really relaxed vibe about it. Definately going to take the girls here for the weekend and hopefully learn to surf!

It was an extremerely hot day on Saturday, well into the 30's and I have the burn marks and red nose to prove it! so much for my 50+ sunblock!
I took my SLR camera out with me so i got some good pictures - hope you enoy them.
xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb