My Trip to Katoomba


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Katoomba
November 12th 2010
Published: November 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, my plan this weekend was to head to Katoomba this weekend to do some more hiking and see more of the Blue Mountains, but that changed. I went on Wednesday instead. It was a quick decision, Uncle Dan said it might be better to head up there during the week to miss the crowds, 1 hour later I was on a train!
I packed my little rucksack and got on the train. The train was about 1 hr 30 mins and only cost $6 (4 quid) and the views were amazing. I checked myself into the YHA on the high street. The YHA was really nice. The rooms were huge, as was the kitchen with good appliances (however, after about 20 mins waiting for the kettle to boil, I realised I hadn't plugged it in properly - Dad you were right!) and there were tonnes of sofas to laze about on.
Once I got my bearings I started walking. Katoomba town is on a massive hill that leads to the views of the Blue Mountains. I was planning to do a 3 hr hike into the mountains, but due to time etc. I changed my mind. I headed towards Scenic World. Scenic World is a tourist attraction where you can get a Skywalk over the Katoomba Falls, a cable cart in the mountain floor and a railway down into the mountains. I first got the Skywalk over to the other side. The Skywalk is basically a cable car that hangs over the KLatooma falls and goes from one lookout to Scenic World. The cable car also has a glass bottom floor which is pretty cool. Once in Scenic world I then got the cable cart down. Scenic World has lots of walks on the floor of the Blue Mountains. You walk on wooden paths that are built around the trees - pretty cool.
The main attraction of Katoomba are the Three Sisters. These are three rocks, but legend has it that these three rocks were once sisters who were amired by a man, the sisters were turned to stone by a witch doctor to keep them away from the man's advances, but the witch doctor died before they could be turned back to human!
After I walked among the trees I headed back up and over via cable cart and skywalk. I then walked along the cliff towards The Three Sisters. It was a gentle walk only taking about 30 mins, but once you've stopped and looked at the views it takes much longer, and the views were stunning.
There is a walk I'd love to do which takes you from Echo Point/Three Sisters, down 1000 steps, through the trees, pass Katoomba Falls, and finishes at Scenic world were you can get the cable cart back up to the top! I'll have to do this another time.
Katoomba Town is really nice. There are loads of charity shops, cafes, book stores etc. I really alternative/hippy vibe - i LOVED it! Unfortunately I didn't meet many people in the hostel, there were quite a lot of couples for some reason, but i'm sure i'll meet loads of fellow travellers soon.
So, enjoy my photos and i'll speak to you all soon. Think i'm going to go into the city tomorrow by boat - i'm sure that will be another blog entry - bound to take a few photos! : )
miss you all
xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



17th November 2010

Wow
Wow Emma - I love the photos and your description of Katoomba. I am defo putting this on my list of places to see x

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb