Happy Summer.. err.. Christmas!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Harbour
December 16th 2008
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Brewery TourBrewery TourBrewery Tour

At the Cascade Brewery
Guess it's time for an update!!

Getting excited for Christmas has been really hard without snow, cold, real Christmas trees, presents, cookies etc etc... but overall, I decided I don't mind because I have started to get my tan back and that is much better than a white Christmas 😊 I have been so busy since school let out, i can't believe I have already been done for almost 4 weeks!

About 2 weeks ago Andy and I went to Tasmania for 4 days. I was excited to get away and do some outdoorsy stuff, but I ended up getting Strep throat the weekend before... and then it also rained every day we were there. We ended up watching a lot of movies and spending a lot of time in this pretty park across from our hotel when it wasn't raining. We walked around Hobart a couple of times, just a small city that's not that pretty, but the surrounding harbour area is nice. We also went to the Cascade Brewery and got to taste some beer afterwards, which was cool. One night we went to a nice steak place... but the best night of all was our last night and I had the best meal, possibly of my life, but definitely since I've been in Australia. It was at this Italian place called Maldini and I had gnocchi with a sweet four cheese sauce with butternut squash, pumpkin, and chicken. It was AMAZING! And then we had this AMAZING bread pudding with caramelized banana's and the most delicious butterscotch sauce ever!! I have never been so full in my LIFE! Yum 😊 The last day we were there we rented a car and drove along the coast for a few hours, which was gorgeous (even though we hit a little bit of rain)... but I got to drive the car all the way back... was a bit weird getting used to driving stick on the opposite side of the car and road!! Overall, it was a pretty laidback trip and made me realize that I definitely love the hustle and bustle of a big city!

Speaking of my love for the city... I moved! I had to be out of my uni housing on December 12th and had been looking for a place to move to that was much closer to the city. I saw an ad
Road TripRoad TripRoad Trip

Somewhere along the coast
online for a place that had 2 girls living in it, and it said Circular Quay (pronounced 'key')... so I was like hmmm, I wonder if it's someone I know? And sure enough, it was this girl I knew, Michaela from Finland, and her and her roommate Raphaela from Brazil were needing another roommate. So I came in, checked it out, and moved in 4 days later!! Even though it's 3 girls in a 1 bedroom apartment (I know, right? haha), I couldn't be happier!! I have been nothing but ecstatic since I moved in!! It's so nice to have awesome, friendly roommates and live in a clean place, unlike my last living arrangement!! And what's even more awesome is that I live 2 blocks away from the train station and ferries, the Opera House, the botanical gardens, the city library, and The Rocks, which is my favorite part of Sydney full of nice shops, restaurants, and bars. I am in heaven even though I have to share a bedroom 😊 This is exactly how I pictured my time in Sydney!

So for now, I am working alot this week and then school will be out for the kids so I won't have to work at my job for 6 weeks, but am going to try and find a waitressing job for the weekends. My mom is here and we have been hanging out a little bit, but because my job is now so far away and I have a lot of shifts, we haven't been able to spend too much time together. But it's definitely nice having her around and being able to show her all the places I've been going for the past 6 months!! We're trying to make some Christmas plans now, but haven't come up with anything yet. Then 6 days after Christmas my friend Erin is here!!! WOO HOO!! And the day after that my Aunt Pat will be coming!! And I think before I know it, school will be starting again! I feel like this summer break is already going by SO fast!!

I have awesome new pictures of the area where I live (aka the Harbour), but can't find the cords for my camera, so they will have to wait for another time! I hope everyone is having a GREAT holiday season and are keeping warm!! Love and miss you all!!

And a special shout-out to my two best friends, Gina and Melissa! Congrats on finishing college!! 😊 XOXO


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb