The working life....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Surrey Hills
February 21st 2006
Published: February 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

There has been a reason for the lack of writing in recent weeks, due to the fact that I'm hardly doing anything other than going to work and going to bed. I really do feel like I'm now living the Sydney working life now. Getting up going to the gym in the morning and then going to work until late, getting home very tired and soul-sapped after a day of trying to sell bits of very expensive plastic to people. The job is certainly not going to be a new career path I can assure you, but the much needed Ozzie dollars are begining to appear in my old dusty bank account.
So as Colin and I are slaving away each day at the office wired to our head-sets we really have to take advantage of our weekends so last weekend was the first of our big adventures... a long walk over the Harbour bridge to North Sydney. Saturday 11th, The weather and the views were stunning showing off Sydney's best qualities. It was a long walk over the bridge itself with spectacular views of the opera house and Circular Quay and then we ventured around the Northern areas Sydney. We passed the Commander Generals house (he signs things on behalf of the Queen) and the Prime Minister's residents each based dirtectly opposite circualer quay and the opera house, not a bad place to live. We were tired and our feet blistered walking in our flip-flops (thongs) so stopped at a perfect spot opposite the opera house with the birdge on our right to watch the long evening shadows grow across the harbour as the sunset exquisitly behind the bridge with it's gorgeous tangerine glow sparkling off the rippling harbour water. (This was when you phoned me Mum) A very nice way to spend the day indeed, and certainly earned ourselves an ice cold beer.
On the Sunday we spent the day taking advantage of our in house facilities of sauna, steam room and jacousi (?).
Valentines Day at the office was as cheesey as an office valentines day could be really with little messages being posted to people around the office and can be seen on my work area photo. So what did Valentines night in Sydney have in store for Simon...... SPEED DATING!!!!!
My friend Mike from La Cita and now working at customcall had found out about a
long evening shadowslong evening shadowslong evening shadows

probably the best RayBan advert we've done so far! Hope you like it Toby!
hostel bar that did speed dating every Tueday and as it was Valentines day we thought there would be no better night to take part, needless to say I didn't find the love of my life but it was such a laugh!!! So along with all the other things I'm hoping to achieve on the trip; bungee jumping, sky-diving, eating weird and whacky foods, I can also add 'speed-dating', brilliant!
I returned to the beach this Saturday to join up with friends from work in Bondi.
Life in the city is good, but the need for the beach on sunny weekend days are really begining to take their toll on us (and my tan has faded drastically, I did have one honest!) and the excitement and anticipation of travelling up the coast is desperatly needed.
I came straight from work to write the last two entries so it is now 10:30pm and I feel I really should have something to eat and go home...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

STUNNINGSTUNNING
STUNNING

well worth the long walk!
MY WORK PLACEMY WORK PLACE
MY WORK PLACE

That's my view 8hrs a day! notice Man City badge and Appleton Estate tag, what more do I need?!
The OfficeThe Office
The Office

Can anyone spot David Brent? 'Golden Calls' puts his middle finger up... thanks for that!!?!


21st February 2006

Top of the world
When Billy Connolly went to Sydney, he went walkabout on top of the Sydney Harbour Bridge - have you added that to your "things to do before I leave Sydney" list?? The photo of the bridge at sunset you promised me when I phoned, looks as good as you described at the time and very similar to the view I had at the time looking out onto our Avenue the rain pouring down, the water rippling down the drain! Very similar.. apart from.......!
6th March 2006

Fatty bum bum
Hello dere! Long time no hear I know, the pain of being back home is only just leaving but comes back in bouts. terrible bouts! nice to hear your still having a ball despite working life, its a cross we all have to bear simon, just not all of us in sydney! Not much to report really, went to nottingham for a house part Saturday- big dave, ed vass, Barney and adam have all moved in together (I'm sure you knew them?) Was nice to see everyone again and another Lincoln weekend is in the midst..how I miss thee. You haven't mentioned the side bar recently? Is this because your now working too much or am i to think you have found somewhere better?? Surely not, please don't break my heart. anywho, emmerdale is nearly on so i have to put my slippers on and make a brew. Has my life really come to this?!haha. Love to the others x x x

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb