day on the water


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
January 22nd 2006
Published: January 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

A fine Sunday. Walked down Pitt St to the ferry and bought $15 all day pass. Took the ferry to Manly. Spruiked at the beach. Oh what a lovely day. Found a Chinese food hall plate for $4 with drink included. How do they do it? Took fast fery back to Circular quay. Then slow cat to all the stops on the way to Parramatta, except Parramatta. Fabulous Sydney. No wonder I love this country. On the way back it was like a private charter. My fellow travelers had done a $15 trip of gargantuan proportions and said I could do the Harbour bridge too. I thought I'd done enough and got off at Darling Harbour. A beer and a chat did me wonders. More stickers went out. Then my walk through hit a rough patch. Seems that Spruiking on Darling Harbour Authority (government corporation) land is verboten. So the guards doing their duty rush up and say no no to a free Aussie walking on his land. Consumption more important than freedom of speech. I maintained a relaxed attitude in spite of the hassle. Lession learned from years of experience. I promise you, Sancho, the day will come when I will rid this land of of intolerable oppression.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb