Day 38 - The end of the tour, holiday with Bernard


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
March 29th 2024
Published: March 29th 2024
Edit Blog Post

It was a lazy, slow start to the day today, as the check out is not until 11am. I have sorted my case, it’s all ready for my next move. Bernard is meeting me at the hotel at around 10am-ish.

I have arranged to meet with Angelika at 9am for breakfast today. I wash up, showered and ready to go by 8:30. I hung back a while to catch up on Facebook and instagram, which I don’t seem to have a lot of time to do these days!

I went down in good time to meet with Angelika. Timo was already seated at a table, I took a seat, then was closely followed by Angelika. I’m happy to take scrambled eggs this morning, with sourdough on the side. I had a cup of black Earl Grey. Perfect! I do love an egg for breakfast!

We had our final breakfast together, before the group split, and all move on. Charles isn’t here. Timo said the Charles is at the gym. It’s a shame that he missed the final breakfast!

Just as we were leaving, Charles arrived, we had a quick catch up before going back up to our rooms. I’m going to bring my case down, get a coffee, and wait for Bernard to meet me.

I got a message from Bernard, he is 5 minutes away. I text the group so that we could all have a last good bye. They all came down, it was much easier than anticipated because we have made arrangements to meet for dinner on Ti seat night. It doesn’t feel as final as it would have! I’m happy with that!

Bernard chatted with them all giving the tips, and information for their stats in Sydney, which was really us helpful.

Bernard, and I set off to his home, which is where I am staying for the next two weeks. It was a short walk to the train station, a few stops, the off at Petersham. The travel network seems pretty simple. It was then a short uphill walk to the apartment.

We got inside, it’s lovely, I’m happy to be a guest here! I was soon introduced to Gavin, Bernard’s housemate. We instantly got a great chat on! We all chatted for about an hour, whilst I simultaneously, got a few bits out of my case, and put a bit on washing in!

We planned to go out for a walking. We started by getting the train back from not Sydney centre, then Bernard had a flexible walking plan that n mind. I’m always happy walking. I’m very pleased that throughout this holiday, I have kept off my backside, and moving!! I definitely benefit physically, and mentally from doing this!

We started walking from Barangaroo Reserve, padded the Finger Wharfs, under the Harbour Bridge, saw The Opera House from a distance. We continued past the cruise passenger terminal whet a huge cruise ship, The Royal Princess was docked, but was preparing to leave. I was amazed by the sheer size of the ship, but also the huge rigging that was holding it in place.

We went into The Belgian Chocolate Cafe for iced coffee, and a sit down. I did see a German type place that advertised, year round, Oktoberfest!!!
This was all set in a historical area known as, The Rocks. The Rocks is a neighbourhood of historic laneways in the shadow of Sydney Harbour Bridge with open-air Rocks Markets. The area has some of Sydney’s oldest pubs and many of the upscale restaurants have harbour views.

We continued our walk passed the Circular Quay Railway Station, where all of the ferries sail in, and out of. These ferries are the standard form of transport in this area. At this time, we were still watching The huge cruise ship manoeuvre it itself, with the help of a tug, to leave the harbour. We watched it through a lot of the walk round, as it’s no mean feat to get that huge thing out of there!

We continued to walk towards the Opera House. It does not disappoint! It is all you would expect it to be. Simply, or actually, not so simply, amazing! The ship was still leaving, gradually.

The next point of interest was the Botanical Gardens. Established in 1816, the Royal Botanic Garden Sydney is Australia's oldest botanic garden and oldest living scientific institution. 

We went on to walk past the outdoor set of Westside Story. The venue for West Side Story, Handa Opera, offers a breathtaking open-air theatre experience with Sydney Harbour as its backdrop. Unlike traditional theatre, this unique setting allows audiences to enjoy performances under the stars, with the iconic Sydney skyline.

The next point of interest was Mrs Maquarie’s Chair. It is an exposed sandstone rock cut into the shape of a bench, on a peninsula in Sydney Harbour. It was hand carved by convicts in 1810, for Elizabeth Macquarie, the wife of Major-General Lachlan Macquarie, Governor of New South Wales.

We turned around at this point to do a return walk back, but we stopped off at a restaurant for a rest, and drink. The plan was to sit there to enjoy the sunset, but as we are on chat catch up, we never stopped talking, so consequently, missed the sunset. It did happen, but we just caught the back end of it! We left there to head off home. I went to get my travel cash card out to pay for the train…… I’ve lost it!! We back tracked a few of the places that we have been to, but we’ve been our walking for about seven hours, it could be anywhere. I think it may have fallen out of my pocket whilst sitting, or at a toilet stop! Who knows! Not stressing about it. I checked the app, it hadn’t been used, so I just froze it.

We carried on with our journey home, I just used my normal debit card. I can call the Post Office helpline when we get back!

I made the call. My physical card has been cancelled, only the digital card will be accepted. If anyone tries to use it, it will be declined! Job done!

Bernard got straight on with dinner whilst I was on the phone with the card company. He made us a gorgeous meal. We had Tapas style garlic prawns with patatas bravado and almond green beans and herby ciabatta. Wow! It was as really nice. He’s definitely a better cook than me.

So that’s a long day done, but also a great day today!


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



29th March 2024

You made it....
Aw how lovely to have arrived...what a holiday...and now 2 weeks on Sydney....enjoy every moment!😎🌞😊
30th March 2024

Hi Angela
Honestly, I’m loving every day x
29th March 2024

Day 38
It certainly has been a stressful time for you over the last week but remember all the amazing memories you have. Enjoy your time with Bernard making even more memories, some stunning photos again Les take care lots of love and hugs me and Mart 😘
29th March 2024

Hi Julie
I know, how amazing though x

Tot: 0.517s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 17; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb