Blue mountains are blue


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Newtown
July 17th 2005
Published: August 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Clarks were nice enough to take me to the Blue mountains for 2 days; which are these beautiful small mountains with sandstone cliffs. We saw the three sisters (three sort of cylindrical erroded cliffs sticking up from the side of the mountain) and the Wall, which is this massive grand canyon-esque sandstone cliff area, except grown everywhere are gum trees. It's absolutely gorgeous, yet we had pretty much the whole place to ourselves. Narelle said that it gets crowded on weekends with people escaping to their country retreats, but still, it's devoid of 'touristy' infrastructure, which I loved.

We went to a huge cave, and stayed at this place called "The Cave House" which is an old country retreat big inn with a large dining hall and reading rooms and the like. It was cold outside, but my bed was heated which was awesome.

It was a great time, and I'll post pictures later. Stuart and Narelle are such wonderful hosts, and Andrew and Richard keep me laughing with their antics. For lunch today, we had breadrolls (I.E. a hoagie) and it was delicious- avocado, ham and tomato (toe-maut-to). I've never really thought to put avocado on a sandwhich, but I will do so from now on.

They took me out to dinner at this lovely restaurant where I ordered barramundi (a nice white australian fish) and asian noodles. I had a few bites and it was delicious. However, then my lip began to swell, and then my throat. Narelle took me to the ER and there they gave me all sorts of drugs. A long long long night later for everyone involved, I'm much better, but we've got to figure out what it was I had that reaction too! I'm going to eat plain for awhile, while I head to Tasmania.

I'm going to Tasmania tomorrow with Adam and Katie, two people I met at orientation from the USA. Eva will meet up with us on Tuesday morning. I think we'll rent a car and putz around for awhile, perhaps meet up with Janice and Karl to hike a mountain near Launceston. We're having our planning meeting tonight with spaghetti and meatballs, delicioso!

Now I must trek across the city in the "Quest to Find Eva's Suitcase".

Caroline, out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



22nd July 2005

hi care, i just wanted to say that i miss you and that i'm happy things seem to be working out so well with your trip. it's 4:30 AM here in Eastern Standard Time, which means I should probably be asleep. you and i are probably the only two nuts awake right now (although you at least can blame the time difference). that's kind of funny, but also kind of scary too. (smiles) stay in touch! i like reading your entries Joe
3rd August 2005

the fish
I wouldn't trust a fish named Barramundi either. Sounds a bit "fishy" to me....get it?!?! "Fishy!!" HAHAHAHAHA ::ahem:: sorry... I hope all is well ms. caroline, I miss ya!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb