Last update from Darling Harbour


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Darling Harbour
April 24th 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Greetings one and all,

Hope you are having a great Easter Sunday - or it will be once you all wake up!

It's now 3.43pm here and I've had such a busy day.

Had a lovely chat with mumsie and pal this morning, had to check out of my hotel here so I stored my luggage and made my way to catch the Monorail. Plan of action for the day was to get to the Sydney Tower early doors and get on a Skywalk over the city. Unfortunately I was met by an extremely rude security guard at Westfields who not only told me the shopping centre was closed (you access the tower from inside) that the Tower would be closed too as it's a public holiday! Bad times.

Having found out that and also, I forgot to mention my intended bagel breakfast didn't happen either as the shop was closed I was on the verge of losing it! No matter, i took a stroll, well a sort of power walk to the Botanical Gardens. I got myself on a free guided walk and off I went. Had a lovely look around and once finished I made the walk to Mrs Macquarie's Chair. Beautiful location right on the water and overlooks the Opera House and Bridge. I made this the setting for lunch.

After lunch I walked back through the gardens and thought whilst on my way back to the Monorail I'd have a look in at the Sydney Tower.... how surprising to find it open!!!!!! Grrrrr. By now the queue was immense so little chance of a Skywalk but I did manage to get up to the Observation Deck for a few pics.

Came back to Darling Harbour on the Monorail and went to the Chinese Garden of Friendship just around the corner. So peaceful and relaxing.

Now back at the hotel, after a quick stop to watch the hula hooping girl in Darling Harbour's Hoopla Festival and I'm getting ready to catch a taxi in just over an hours time to Taronga Zoo, ready for my roar and snore evening.

Really excited about it, who knows what animals we might meet tonight - but it's going to be a late one - bedtime's at 11pm and you'll all know I'm an in bed and asleep by 10pm girl!!! Should be interesting.

Hope you're all well and you've not eaten too much chocolate and hot cross buns - that reminds me - Mum please make sure we have some M&S hot cross buns for when I come back - i've not found any here yet and Wilson and Karen told me they did chocolate and raspberry flavoured ones!!!

Lots of love
xxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb