Day 48 - Maritime Museum, The Sky Tower & Gender Bender Bingo!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Darling Harbour
April 8th 2024
Published: April 8th 2024
Edit Blog Post

It’s a relaxed start today, which I’m ready for! Especially after the early morning yesterday! Then when we got home last night, Gavin informed us that the clocks had been put forward an hour. So we were up early…. An extra hour… and even worse… we didn’t even know!!!!

I was actually awake quite early today, about 5:30. That was probably because I was in bed by nine, and probably asleep by ten past…. I couldn’t keep my eyes open last night!

The beauty of today was that, even though I was awake early, I could snuggle down, get comfy, and catch up with the Chateau renovations that I follow on YouTube! I stayed there until about 8:30!!!

Bernard is working from home this morning, as he has an appointment this afternoon. So, I caught up with him, around work calls! Chez Bernard did still appear for breakfast, also, between calls! It was a good breakfast, as always. we had scrambled eggs, tomato, beans, kangaroo sausage, baby spinach and toast. I was pretty disgusted when I saw which sauce Bernard used…. Curry ketchup…. Ewww! I guess it’s down to personal taste!!! Ha ha

As Bernard is busy working. I decided to make an attempt to tidy up my case. As I have been buying little bits and pieces, I seem to have a lot of bags that I really don’t need. They take up a lot of space! It took me about half an hour. It’s looking a lot better!

I’m going to venture out today to visit The Maritime Museum in Darling Harbour. It’s one of the few things I haven’t seen yet, and I’ve seen a lot! I chatted with Bernard before I left, just to make a catch up plan for later. Tonight we are going to Gender Bender Bingo. We had a good night at the lady bingo we went to, but Bernard thinks we may enjoy this one more! I’m definitely up for it! So we are both doing our own thing for now, he will contact me when he’s done, to check in with me, and where I am at that time.

It’s now just before 11am. I set off for the train station to head out. There was very little wait for the train. I decided to get off at Townhall, then do the short walk to the museum, as it’s amazing what surprises you stumble across on the walk!

At Town, it wasn’t long before I was back in the QVB. It is so huge, with such a vast variety of retail, and food. I find it hard to avoid! I finally dragged myself out to head for Darling Harbour. I stopped to get a coffee to go on my way! Then outside, in the street was a young busker. He was good, so I watched him for a while!

I crossed over Pyrmont Bridge down to the Maritime Museum. There was a small charge of $25 entry, but I felt that it was well worth it.

I started my tour on the submarine, HMAS Onslow. WOW, it is unbelievably constricting! I felt really hemmed in all of the time I was down there! I struggled being inside it for 15 minutes, I can’t imagine how anyone could work, and live in there for weeks on end. It was suffocating! It’s a great opportunity, even though I hated it, to go inside, to walk around, and look at all the different areas! The triple sleeping bunks reminded me of being on an Indian sleeper train, again… suffocating!

I went from there, over to the destroyer, HMAS Vampire. Again, so interesting to see, but honestly, I couldn’t imagine that being a living and working environment. I was happy to walk around, look everywhere, but the lifestyle simply seems unimaginable to me! But WOW… all the same!

From there I walked down the quay to look at the replica tall ship, HMB Endeavour, and the lighthouse. Both were closed at the time that I was visiting today.

Next was the inside tour, there were so many different areas to discover. There are many exhibitions, and galleries that tell stories of life in, on and under the sea. The museum covers areas of First Nations and European maritime history, ocean science and migration.

I did pop in the little shop as I left, there is nothing that I really want, but I did find a book mark that explained about the beginnings of my surname! Well, that was a good tourist spot. Although it made me uncomfortable in the tiny spaces, it was very interesting to experience.

I’m now just treading time until I meet with Bernard later. I got a seat in the sun, outside the museum to allow me to catch up with the blog. It’s very time consuming, but I think it’s worth it! When I had finished, I walked over to QVB as I’m feeling a bit hungry. I do like the little German baker in there, Luneburger. I got a table, which was good as it means I can sit for a while. I had a seeded bun, egg salad sandwich, a flat white, and a water. Bernard called whilst I was there. He’s going to let me know when he’s on the train. Great, all sorted!

Bernard met me outside the Banksy Exhibition. We decided, off the cuff, to go for drinks and nibbles at Sydney Tower Eye. It is also known as Centre Point Tower. It is the tallest structure in Sydney, standing at 309m high, and the second-tallest observation tower in the Southern Hemisphere.

The sun is setting, as we sit and watch it…. WOW…. Perfect timing! We have unrivalled 360-degree views of the city and beyond. We can see lots of iconic landmarks of this beautiful harbour city, plus on a clear day like today, we can even see the Blue Mountains, located 80km away!

I took a video of the sun, as it was setting, right in front of our window… amazing to watch! Considering, this is a 360 degree place, we couldn’t, believe our luck, that the sunset was right in front of us! We stayed for a couple of drinks, and some nuts, and until the sun had finished entertaining us. Before we left, I went to the ladies.,.. OMG…. I loved the toilet!! It’s bright orange! It would go perfect in my house!! If I had have had my phone with me, I would have taken a picture!!!

We set off for Coopers Hotel in King Street, Newtown for tonight’s Drag Bingo. We were heading for the train station when I noticed huge queues of people outside the State Cinema. It’s only a bloody Premiere of the Ryan Gosling and Emily Blunt film, Fall Guy!!! We hung around for a few minutes, the director and his wife showed up whilst we were there, but we didn’t want to hang around, as we’ve got bingo to get to…. We have priorities!!!

Finally, it is 6:45pm, and we are on the train to Newtown. We arrived in good time for the bingo. We ordered our food, and ordered for Weeke too, he a friend of Bernard’s who is joining us tonight. The girls came on. It will be Frangipani, and Moulin who will be running the bingo tonight. It was really good. The girls were better than the one at our previous experience! The girls were much friendlier, and played with the audience more. I won a game, the prize was a $20 drink voucher, then Bernard also won a game, another $20 voucher, and $30 cash. It was a really nice night. We enjoyed the bingo, and the entertainment. I enjoyed Weeke’s company. His sense of humour, and presence added to our night. He’s another nice lad!

We all walked back to the station together. The end of yet another great day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



8th April 2024

Day 48
Some more stunning photos Les, so glad you’re enjoying your time with Bernard, you look very happy. You’ve done so much in the 48 day's, stay well lots of love 🥰 😘
8th April 2024

It’s coming to an end
It feels like a whirlwind, it’s passed so quick xx

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb