1st Lesson


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thursday 15th Jan 2009
I had to get up early today to get to Manly for my surf lesson. I went with Jess who i live with and we took the bus to Circular Quey then the ferry to Manly. It was a gorgeous way to wake up! The sun was low and we were sailing straight towards it, it was so relaxing.
When we got to Manly beach we had to sigh in with the surf school and i then realised i got my free lesson when i booked three, so i did that. I got into a long sleeve wet suit this time which was good as i had really bad board rash before and then we had to wear a white tshirt over the top so they wouldn't lose us.
The discussion before was really interesting, they explained to us how the ocean works, which was very complicated but safe when you knew how to deal with a situation.
The actual surfing though was another story! It was so hard just to walk the board out, the surf was so strong and if i got on my board and paddled out then i got smashed by the waves. What really anoyed me was everytime a wave came i couldn't stand up everyone else could but i am too short!
I had to get another board at one point because mine had split, it wasn't in two pieces but there was a crease all the way arround the middle and it was the woman that told me it was broken.
I didn't get very far at all with the surfing it was really strong for me and once you got past one wave there was another to tackle, there was no time to get on the board, turn around then catch the wave. I got bowled under a few times.
We walked back along the beach to the surf hut and it was so hard walking along the sand and it was quite far so it took it out of me as the surfing was nakering too.
We went straight home and i put some washing on and had a shower and went to Coogee.
When i came back from Cooogee i went to Darling Harbour Cockle Bay to meet Ceri and Shelley who i went on the surf day with when i first arrived.
It was great to see them and when i got there they were with two german girls and a guy from Brisbane, they all just did surf camp for a week. They said it was really good, it lookes like a lot of fun from the photos. They played different sports too every day and one was volley ball, it wasn't untill tonight that on eof the german girls said how she was 7th best in germany at volleyball. That was out off 80,000 people!
We came up with an idea while we were at the Watershed pub, to hire a van and surf boards and go to a not so busy beach and surf and picnic all day. At the moment it seems to be going ahead but who knows it is quite short notice. But we are all really exited.
When i got home i realised my washing had been on the line all day and guess what, we had thunder and it had been thrashing it down. My clothes were soaked and i had all my work clothes on there!

Friday 16th Jan 2009
Well my clothes were not dry thismorning so i had to wear my friends black leggins that she left and a top that was mostly black. The boss wasn't in either so it was ok.
Work was dead again it was so boaring. The last client i had was so misserable i couldn't say anything because i just got a groan back.
Came home and iv just been chilling really. There are two more slovakians staying for the night i can't wait till they go they are all talking in there language around me, it bugs me because they can talk english. Going to bed soon so speak soon.xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.3kb