Barwork, Riots, Sunrise?!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee Beach
December 19th 2005
Published: December 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have now started work at La Cita. I worked there on Friday and Saturday night, it's ok, but to be honest it's not ideal, but I really need the money so I just have to like it and lump it. Because it's a latino style bar everyone in there does proper salsa dancing, which can be quite funny to watch. I was able to finish early on Friday night so finished at 1am (it's open til 2am) so I went and met Chris after work and was able to get the bus home with him which was cool as he is pretty much next door on the harbour. Saturday night was cool worked 6- til about 3.30am which is the same as I used to work at Dogma. Was all ok, but in the end it is just dull bar service as I am yet to learn the cocktails and don't know the good wines etc so I can't do my usual up-selling or cocktail banter, I'm sure it will come with time, but at the moment it's mundane barwork, ah well.
Our time is being well spent down at the beach everyday, having a swim and catching some rays... "living the Dream!"
I don't know whether anyone has heard on the news about riots in Sydney at the beaches but here is the lowdown:
There has been some conflict between Lebonese and Ozzies. Some groups of Lebonese people have been terrorising some of Sydney's beach; stealing, hassling girls, fighting with Ozzie lads etc. It's really stupid because their motivation is that they don't like the Australian layed back beach way of life and are attacking people because of it, why they here then? I have no idea of the true politics behind it all, but this is what I have heard on Wave FM news the radio station we have on all the time in the flat and from taxi drivers etc. A text message was then sent out to all Australian residents to stand up against them so there was a big riot last Saturday at Cronulla beach. Anyway it has all been going off at Marouba and Cronulla beaches the ones south of Coogee. The police have now been visible in full force at Coogee beach for the last 4 days as a procaution, so it's alll a bit wierd! I got the bus on Saturday night
The beach unifrom!The beach unifrom!The beach unifrom!

All modelling our new boardies and enjoying the beach life.
after work and this girl didn't want to be seen waiting for the bus alone at 3am so I was talking to her about it all and she was stressing how rubbish it is that it's all going off now when it's normally the best time of year and loads of fun and drinking etc. around the beaches but now there is a fear surrounding the beaches. Saying all that it hasn't effected us at all and hopefully won't! It's just a bit rubbish seeing loads of police patrolling the beach all the time.
On a happier note, we went out last night (Sunday night) to the Kings Cross area or 'the Cross' as it's known to a really cool club/bar called Moulin Rouge it was very cool indeed and played cool music, a very dark and undergound style place with a strict door policy but we're cool so we got in! We drank and danced the night away til 5am then we jumped in a cab so we could get back to the beach to watch the sunrise, which I'm very glad we did as you can see, it was SO beautiful!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



20th December 2005

Morale Wrecker
Im not sure printing out your blog and photos for the staff room is a good idea, judging from the steady procession of staff closing the door crying......? My comment like 'well he deserves it!' are usually met with a muttered 'bastard' But to raise morale all the girls will be working topless on Christmas eve, this is my amazing brainwave and just needs your agreement as head barman and technical consultant.....?... Oh shit and then the problem of getting them to do it? No worries I'm sure some angry Lebonese can be hired to rip their tops off!!? Missing the main man, have fun, Love Rodeo.
24th December 2005

found your site by chance...you guys seem to be having a wicked time, reminds me of myself a few years back when I was travelling Oz. Had a few mental nights at Scu Bar myself - seem to remember it was a good spot for picking up the ladies!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb