I've arrived!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee Beach
November 22nd 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My god have I arrived!! What an experience so far. I got in on Saturday night after a really long flight. Couldn't sleep on the plane as I was wedged in between two large blokes - Quantas don't have great leg room.

However, you know me, I didn't want to go to bed and as soon as I arrived in the hostel I went and got some booze and joined the other girls in my dorm for a few. Later on I went out to the local boozer - Coogee Bay Hotel (cbh). So I arrived at 9pm and didn't get home until 3am! Don't do things by half me!!

Firstly, I have to tell you its absolutely scorching and its only spring here - Summer officially begins at the start of December. The beach here in Coogee is beautiful and I've already been on it sunbathing a few times.

On Monday we went for a little cruise in a nice sailboat around Sydney harbour catching in the sights. Once I've got to a proper internet cafe I will upload my photos of the Opera House and the Botanical Gardens. Speaking of the Botanical Gardens, I got to experience firsthand the amazing wildlife - fruitbats and spiders!!

After the cruise we drove around the city and I just love it. I've no complaints so far, but bear in mind, I've not been here a week. I could be getting carried away.

As for the hostel, well its a hostel really! But its a hostel on the beach!! Yes, I have a balcony overlooking Coogee Bay and its awesome. But the sand aint!!! Its everywhere. I reckong I'll probably bring back some to Bonnie Dundee next year! Hopefully customs won't mind.

Yesterday we went on a Learn to Surf daytrip. The crew took us down to a secluded beach past Botany Bay and it was stunning. Me on a surf board wasn't quite so. Its very difficult and the waves are so powerful. But I did manage to get up on the board and stand on it. Just the once mind! I had so many wipe outs it was hilarious, coupled with red eyes and a distaste for salty water - lovely!

Anyway, got to run, this afternoon we are going on a ferry to Manly. Should be good. I think today is mean't to be 38 degrees! Ouch, pass me the sunblock!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Garie BeachGarie Beach
Garie Beach

This is where I learned (unsuccessfully) to surf!
Angela Surfing!Angela Surfing!
Angela Surfing!

Yes, I know this looks dodgy, but it has to be done!
Outside the Opera HouseOutside the Opera House
Outside the Opera House

We were waiting for our sailboat to arrive for our Harbour Cruise


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb