Christmas day on Bondi Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
December 25th 2009
Published: January 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'mmmm dreaming of a whiteeeeeeeeee christmasssssssssssss! Actually no the hell I'm not, I'm dreaming of a damn good christmas at the beach today. Apparently it's been none stop snow back home, or so everyones goddamn facebook statuses keep repeatedly saying! However I'm not jealous in the slightest because I'mmmmm innnnnnn Australia at christmasssssss! WAHEY, however not so wahey when I wake up to discover it's the worst bastard weather EVER. I might as well be at home it's that cloudy. How dare Manchester have better weather than us for Christmas! It's just my luck that on the one day we needed sunshine it decides to go and take a stinking great shit on me. However it didn't put too much of a downer on us as we were set ready to go to Bondi. Had my awesome packed lunch ready and sorted all my drink out and was very much up for a good day out! The roads were completely dead, I had never seen Oz so quiet.. today I will just be surrounded by none stop travellers as all the Ozzies will be doing traditional christmas day with their family, so us rejects across the world all get together on the beach to celebrate that maybe we're not completely totally alone in this huge scary country. We had been told that its pretty much impossible to find a space on the beach unless you get there super early.. so that's what we did. We set off about 10ish ready to get there for about 11! The buses were quiet as well, I was expecting them to be packed to Bondi. Marc started drinking his wine already and I'm pretty sure it went straight to his head judging by his random outbursts on the bus, tres amusement.

So.. we arrive at Bondi Beach. Or at least I thought I did.. it did NOT look at all like I expected. I thought I would step off the bus and be overwhelmed by a massively packed beach and pumping music, however it was the quietest on the beach I had ever seen it! I put it down to the fact that it was still early and most people were likely to be in the pubs drinking. So we're about to go onto the beach until we notice security at every damn entrance checking peoples bags.. also explains why the beach isn't too packed! Not allowed damn alcohol in there, what a pisstake! I had the entire contents of my southern comfort in my bag and I was not about to let it go to waste, no sir! So we went further down the beach to see if the grassy areas surrounding it were safe, however there were police lurking on every corner. What a pile of piss >.<. Eventually after a lot of standing around wondering what the hell to do.. we find a little patch of grass nearby some English people that appear to be drinking, so we thought it was safe to park ourselves. Got straight on the drink and soon enough the grass started filling up with more and more people in christmas hats. So I'm sat on the grass and the English group near us is getting bigger and bigger, I'm pretty sure it's an entire hostel in one group.. and I suddenly see 2 faces amongst them that seem really familiar to me. At first I thought I knew them from the wake up but then it dawned on me who they were.. It was 2 guys from Nottingham that were friends with a group of lads I knew back when I lived there! WHAT THE HELL! I was so completely freaked out! So Marc was drunk and went up to ask them to double check, and sure enough they were from Gedling, Nottingham (right where I used to live) and I asked if they knew certain people and they did! Holy cow of all the places to bump into people.. can't escape home even if you try here! I never ever forget a face, especially one of them who used to work in Morrissons who is pretty fit and I used to perv on him down the isles.

Eventually after finishing all our drink, feeling festive and merry we set off to find a nice bar to settle in! Got a few beers in and then relaxed on a table outside. Nearby was the event 'sunburnt christmas'(yeah sure, totally sunburnt in this weather!). We were going to buy tickets but from what we could see it was crap and not really worth the money.. plus a couple sat behind us had said that it was shit and the drinks were far too expensive and they came out anyway! So instead we settled in the bar for a good while. Soon enough Dave, Paul, Mike and Kate came to join us! They had been at Mike and Kate's Bondi apartment drinking. Zoebird is wasted and gets talking to these 2 hot guys from chile.. and then the rain came... not just light rain though, actual downpours. It wasn't even warm either, it was cold wind and rain. The entire beach was empty! NOT what I predicted on christmas day! Aussies say that it's by far the worst christmas weather that's ever occured, I think I brought the bad rain over from England 😞. So suddenly Dave says he wants to go swimming in the sea.. WHAAAAAAAT! However then I thought it over and realised that this is actually not a bad idea, we're soaked through anyway and might as well go in the sea with style! So that's what we did, we all rushed to the ocean, completely wasted. I went in only to have a piss to be honest, but it was fun all the same. After a lot of splashing and drunkness I got out shivering my tits off. I had never been so cold in my life! The others went back to mike and kates and me, zoebird and Marc caught the last bus home. Zoebird gets talking to some french guy and uses her french language skills to flirt her ass off! The whole bus journey they're having some french convo I couldn't understand for the life of me. I wish I knew another language, it's so awesome to have another skill like that. At the moment I'm attempting to teach myself french, spanish and Italian via my ipod touch.. I'm not doing that bad either! AAAAAAnyway by the time we reach home I'm cold, sandy, tired and all I can think about is a sexy drunken shower. I stayed in there for aaaaaaaages! You know when you're in the shower and you think.. okay I should get out now, but just can't, and end up staying in for another 10 mins or something. Well I just KEPT doing that, but it was bloody good. I can't really remember what happened after this so I'll just assume I passed out in bed 😊 merry christmas!!

xoxo Gossip Girl.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb