The Good With The Bad


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It feels strange to use the blog to convey bad news, but unfortunately, I am not having the best experience in Australia. I have come down with the dreaded swine flu and have been in bed (actually "bed" is a euphamism for Tim's thermarest) since Monday and finally went to the doctor today. Confirmed swine.

With lots of time on my hands and my brain full of evil thoughts as to who exactly should be to blame for all of this, I now have a well-polished theory. The country of Australia is to blame.

Having just traveled through all of the "high alert" countries in SE Asia, the people and the governments there are doing everything they possibly can to prevent the spread. There are body heat sensors at all international airports, the majority of the nationals wear facemasks at all times, and you have to fill out a health claim every time you fly. And you know what: I traveled the heck out of SE Asia and no swine flu.

Australia: here are the facts:
no body heat sensor at Sydney airport when I arrived.
nobody wears face masks
everybody is sick...I mean that. I have seen more sick people here, coughing, sneezing, blowing noses...you can't get away from it.
the "doctor" that I went to, was a total crackerjack. When he looked down my throat, he used a table lamp. His office was stacked with boxes of drugs which he kept knocking over. Paperwork everywhere. A pacing orthodox jew in the waiting room. Then he told me I shouldn't be sad about not going to Cairns because, "It's not that great."

My point is: H1N1 (AKA Swine flu) is basically like any other flu; in a developed country with good (that might be generous based on my experience) medical professionals and access to treatment widely available. So the attitude here is: let the people get the H1N1. It's better than making them wear masks. As long as they don't die, everyone is happy.

More facts:
I have always been a lover of Australia, but during this trip, I feel kind of like Australia has lost its way a bit. The people here are not very friendly, no one makes eye contact and says "g'day", and it is EXTREMELY over-priced. In an effort to not get Timmy sick, I am moving to a hostel. It is $80/night. Yes, $80 for a hostel. I am not even sure if it has a private bath. At that price, I might slip some of my swine flew germs into the pricing manager's coffee.

Why is everything so bloody expensive here? I don't want to hear the song & dance about: we're an island, blah blah blah. I have been to islands with far fewer natural resources and paid a lot less. And the worst part (this is where I start the pity party) is I'm paying all of this money to get to lie in bed and feel like shit. I could've done that at home for free.

So I've been watching a lot of TV and it turns out, Australia is trying to come up with a new tourism campaign, they are offering $20 million to anyone who can nail the tagline. They want to capture the essence of Australia. I have a few ideas:
-Australia: if you like paying $2000 to lie in bed shivering feverishly and longing for sudden death, you'll love it here.
-Australia: Expect to be reimbursed for your flight to Cairns just because you have a doctor's note saying you have swine flu? No can do, mate!
-Australia: We have beautiful beaches that are meant only for snotty rich people to enjoy.
-Australia: Does our accent make us sound like we're whining?
-Australia: We won't tell Americans that we hate them, even though we're trying to be exactly like them, until they're here.

That concludes my rant on what I'm sure is actually a very lovely country, which hopefully in a few short days, I'll be able to enjoy a bit of.

I am hoping to get on an earlier flight home, I am ok to fly on Sept 2 per McDoctor, but nothing available when I called today....I miss my bed and my kitty and my friends and being able to call my mommy.

Yours in sickness and health.




Advertisement



27th August 2009

:(
let me know where you are and I will call you. Might be nice to hear a friendly voice on the line. Maybe I can make up for the lousy experience you have had. matt 0448 124 552
29th August 2009

you have your work cut out for you!
hi, I don't have a phone right now, am at a hostel, but am moving tomorrow to somewhere cheaper. If there's a ph there, I'll let you know. Would love to catch up!

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb