Aboriginal Culture: My responses to Arcadia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
August 17th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey Cam, my answers to these questions are below:

Gday All,
I am interested in finding out whether Indigenous components of Arcadia
excursions are worthwhile, and in what ways contribute to the Study Abroad
experience. I would be very grateful if you could address the following
questions.

1. Have you studied Indigenous culture in the US?
I have not taken any specific courses on Aboriginal or Native American culture, but I have taken a couple African American courses, as well as basic historical cover on these topics (which generally is too generic and from a westernized perspective).


2. Are you taking Indigenous courses here in Australia?
No, I'm not taking any indigenous courses here. I would have liked to if I were staying longer, but my primary reason for studying abroad (ie. at another university) was to attend and receive a fine arts education at an art university. For that reason, I'm enrolled in only art courses at COFA. However, I think that taking indigenous courses in Australia should be encouraged.

3. Has the indigenous component of your excursion been helpful?
Yes.


4. If so, how and why?
I think that the exposure to the indigenous culture here in Australia is essential both to get a taste for the national history and spirit, but also to recognize and understand that these communities exist and that our actions impact them. In order to help them preserve their culture and not destroy it, we need to be educated about it. I also had a very positive experience meeting and talking with an aboriginal man and his family on the Blue Mountains trip. I was able to talk to him about the growing threat of urban development to historical sites, preservation of these sites, see a small part of how aboriginal society functions and see and touch handmade traditional instruments and hunting gear. As an art student, it was also interesting to see how their creative outlets also bring a small profit supported by tourism. The dance & music performance aspect was fun and interesting, but I got more out of the personal interaction that we shared afterwards. I discovered that I had a very good connection with this man and his son and we traded hugs by the end. It was so cool to be able to speak with his nine year old son and take him on the bus with me and hold his hand walking across a street. I also got to ask the older man about his arranged marriage to his wife since the age of 11 and ask questions about the role of women in aboriginal society. To me, this emotional moment that we shared was such a wonderful experience. We made a connection and found a common thread even though we have extremely different cultures and lives.

5. Has your indigenous culture experience caused you to reflect upon US
Indigenous culture?
Of course it has. I don't think it's possible to come here and hear of the stolen generations and how the white British settlers claimed their land for Britain and not parallel it to Native American history in the US (which we do not learn enough about and still remains an issue behind the scenes). While obviously the cultures are different, at their core they reject dominant Western ideology. However, its also clear to see how assimilation has occurred as people live intermingled with each other. Many of the aboriginal people I've seen lead very ordinary lives and mainly dress up in the traditional gear when performing for outsiders. This is mostly what I've seen of in terms of Native American culture in the US- almost no one is %100 Native American and very few live on reservations immersed in native american society.


6. Do you see any parallels between Australian and Native American culture?
See above..


7. Has your exposure to Australian Indigenous culture been a worthwhile
addition to your overall Study Abroad experience?
Yes, so far my exposure to Australian Indigenous culture has been worthwhile. I've only scraped the surface and there is much more that I could learn and would like to see, but the little exposure I've had has definitely been important to my experience in Australia. I am a firm believer that more people from the western european white middle classes should study and learn about nonwestern indigenous cultures. If I had more time in my curriculum I would take a class, but I'd like to try to learn as much as I can from life experience and the excursions I go on that involve & cross paths with Australian indigenous culture.

Hence why I replied so thoroughly to these questions--- I would hate to see the emphasis on Aboriginal culture fade out because the exclusion of these communities histories and lack of information on them is what leads to nationally sanctioned maltreatment, neglect, discrimination and abuse, and eventually what dissolves these societies.


Your comments are appreciated and if reproduced will be anonymous.








Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.3kb