Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
July 7th 2008
Published: July 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bondi BeachBondi BeachBondi Beach

First visit to the beach.
After an uneventful 10h night flight with Asiana Airlines I arrived at the Sydney airport on Wednesday morning. Australian immigration is very strict on food items and other potential carriers of bugs which could bring unwanted visitors to this remote continent. I was quizzed on what kind of food I was carrying (I only had snickers and a korean cake) and custom officials inspected the dirt on my trecking shoes and sticks. Apparently everything was o.k. as I was able to pass customs without any further delay. I was greeted by Nils, my friend from Hamburg who had moved to Australia 2 years ago and a blue, sunny sky with a pleasant 20 degrees. After a short stop at Nils' apartment in Bondi Beach, a suburb of Sydney, we immediately walked down to the beach to check out the beach. And sure enough I was surfing only a couple of hours after I had touched Australian ground. Great.

And this is bascially what I have been doing the last couple of days. Surfing at Bondi Beach and Garie in the Royal national park. Oh, I also went hiking in the Blue mountains, which is a 2h train ride from Sydney. Just check out the pictures (they are on two pages!). I will be back shortly with more travel stories, I promise. Until then... hang loose :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Coolest SofaCoolest Sofa
Coolest Sofa

Somebody built a sofa hang out place into the cliffs at North Bondi. Nice, huh?
North Bondi Golf CourseNorth Bondi Golf Course
North Bondi Golf Course

Next to the Ocean of course.
Bondi BeachBondi Beach
Bondi Beach

View from North Bondi
GarieGarie
Garie

Beach at Garie in the royal National Park.
Bundeena Christian CommunityBundeena Christian Community
Bundeena Christian Community

This is shot from the Bundeena Christian Community porch, where I held Sunday Service. They are located right next to the beach, so you could hear the waves during the service. Really cool.
Bundeena Christian CommunityBundeena Christian Community
Bundeena Christian Community

Bundeena is a small town which is located in the Royal National Park.
OperaOpera
Opera

Must have been there. Actually I just took the picture . I didn't get any closer.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb