Bondi and the Blue Mountains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
January 19th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks!
I'm in OZ!!!! Finally!!! I arrived on Wednesday morning (tues eve gmt) and was picked up by my friend Emily. By the afternoon I was toasting (and burning) on Bondi beach, which is treatful! The water was freezing though. Had a little explore over some rocks and then we went for a drive along the east coast to look at other beaches including Bronte beach (also lovely jubbly). Then went back to Emily's for a much needed 11hour sleep!
The next day (thurs) we went to Taronga Zoo. Emily also has a british friend called Johnny staying with her so all 3 of us went. The Aussie animals were wicked! I want a duckbilled platypus. Customs won't stop me! The Zoo was on an island over looking the city so the views were spectacular. Emily lives in the suburbs right by the city so we've been over the Harbour bridge alot and have driven round the city. Very clean and friendly.
Today (fri) Johnny and I went to the Blue Mountains. They were immense! I just had to get my Ipod out and whack on my Lord of the Rings soundtrack (it was that kind of moment - very middle earthy). We went on the world's steepest train (51 degrees angle!). All the Japanese tourists screamed - he he! We went on cable cars over the valleys and walked through the rainforest. It was lush! The smells and sounds were like no other. Must've walked a million miles over the steepest hills though. I ache and smell (no pain, no gain). Saw the Leura Cascades which is a beautiful waterfall.
The birds in Oz are amazing! Big, bright, white cockatoos with yellow feather hats keep flying around. Have also seen a few lizards (back away spiders, back away!).
Am still getting over my jet lag so some more shut eye for me tonight. Tomorrow (sat) I believe we're going to the Opera House and Centre Point Tower which overlooks the whole city. Then we're going for some dancing in the city (please be gone by then jet lag!)
Hope you're all well folks and not too jelly. I shall whack some photos on when I figure out Emily's computer. Till then, byeeee!
Love Bex


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



21st January 2007

Hi!
Hi Bex! Glad your'e havin a good time. We're enjoying your travel log.. not a bit like Captain Kirks though! Nice to see what your'e up to. enjoying the pics and humorous dialogue. x
26th January 2007

G'Day Mate!!!
Hey munchkin! Sounds like you're having a wicked time! Take more piccies babe...we wanna see it all too! Please don't come back too brown honey. Hope you're missing us like mad! Looking forward to catching up when you'e back at Papa Harveys! Love, love, love, Hayley xxxx

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb