Coff's Harbour the Aussie Way


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sawtell
November 30th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

These days our hostel stays are becoming fewer thanks to the kindness of other people we've met along the way or friends. So this weekend we stayed in Sawtell, a suburb of Coffs, with a friend of Grace. And finally we've had the long overdue "all Australian barbeque". So on arriving in Sawtell we could put our pro-salad-making skills into practise. Actually our salads are never this exotic so I've taken a few notes for future ventures. I got the lucky job of shelling the prawns.....a big bag of them that took ages....the last time I shelled prawns was last Christmas at home & I hope the next time is Christmas 2008.......cause with each prawn I decapitated they were becoming less & less appetising as the mustard coloured guts squirted out in all directions. Yum......only for I knew it was guts......you'd think it was a marinade. Happy shelling!!

Now I know you won't believe this at home but I was second in command on the BBQ.....responsible for skewers & meats of all kinds. I take no responsibility though for the skewer Grace had with a Christmas beetle charcoaled to the top......I remember at one stage this horrible big beetle landing on me & me flapping about hysterically but I don't believe there is a link between this event & Grace's beetle trauma!! Anyway full of protein....did bring a tear to her eye cause she nearly ate it!! Yuk!! Yes there was a man overseeing my BBQ-ing skills at first but he disappeared after a while.....& no......nobody required an emergency visit to A&E......so I'm considering going pro on the BBQ front!!

So it was nice to spend a night meeting "normal" people that aren't backpackers. Sometimes you meet a lot of oddballs in hostels & you wonder if there are any normal people left in the world & then worry that you've turned into "one of them". The following day we went out to a freind's house & had another BBQ.....this time it really was Australian in that we had our first taste of kangaroo meat......ummm.....so from now on I'll be telling the bus-driver to plough full steam ahead & if one happens to bounce on to our path....well it'd be a shame to let roadkill go to waste!!! Yes it's tasty....rare but nice & tender.

Of course we did the guided tour of the area with our hosts & in typical Aussie fashion there were beaches to write home about & sunshine. Managed to have a go on the surfboard too....stayed well away from the pros but my standing up has definitely come on. Probably helps that my board is the size of a small house!! I'm afraid it was a weekend of excesses.....no haven't turned to the drink but seems everywhere we went there was food & great fish n' chips. We took a walk out to Muttenbird Island in Coffs itself & there are lovely views up & down the coast from there.

On the Monday we went white water rafting on the Dorrogo River which is about 2 hours away from Coffs. It was so much fun. The drops are good.....not particularly fast water but it definitely is a great way to spend the day. Halfway along we swapped positions & Grace & I were commandeering the raft...hahahha. It's so cool being at the front & we couldn't stop laughing in the rapids whenever the instructor would shout "get down" & the two of us like sardines in a can, clinging to the raft & each other for dear life so we didn't go shooting out. At one point I did end up in the river unexpectedly.....didn't get hold in time but one foot remained in the raft so another quick-acting passenger grabbed my foot & hauled me in.....so I didn't get washed to oblivion!! Great craic!!

So after a funfilled day we got a late bus to our next port of call......Port Macquarie.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.348s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 74; dbt: 0.3055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb