Byron Babies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
November 26th 2007
Published: December 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm here reading over this blog that I wrote another day & realise that it is as boring as crap. Probably cause I wrote it when I was tired but I feel rejuvenated now.....have just had my second mug of hot chocolate so expect better things.....better not fantastic!!! On the rough days it has been either the hot chocolate, the golden syrup, the ice-cream or a combination of the 3 that has picked me....& why wouldn't they....the common denominator being sugar. So it wouldn't be surprizing if diabetes is the cause of my endless hunger!!!

Anyway it's a new state, new time, more rain. The further south we go the more rain we get. Thankfully it's mostly in the evening....so the miniature towel has more than one function....towel, raincoat, blanket, top.....endless. Shouldn't complain though seen as there are a lot of people in this country who'd would love a drop of rain with the drought but to me & Grace....well we'd prefer if it'd just rain at night. We skipped Surfer's Paradise cause we'd heard that it was a bit like Santa Ponsa & was completely overrun with schoolies who couldn't walk a straight line day or night. So we came straight to Byron Bay.

We stayed in a nice hostel called the Holiday Inn....it was an apartment style hostel so didn't have to share the kitchen with too many people but it's always hard readjusting to sharing a room when you've been away from them for a few days. Was watching a programme one evening, & the fella sharing our place asked me what a geek was??? No he wasn't english speaking....anyway I explained in as nice a way as possible only to go & find Grace bent over in convulsions laughing at yer man...yeah he was the epitome of a geek but I wasn't going to tell him that. The same man had the cheek to bang on the bathroom door the next morning twice....& I was nearly finished.....so he could go in.....well that was the last time I was sharing ice-cream with him!! Wasn'y impressed in the slightest....& he had all the timein the world.....I gave him the look!!

Anyway Byron Bay....loads to do. Day 1 I hauled the surf board to the beach......the big ones that the beginners use & day 1.....hadn't a chance in the surf so I hauled it all the way back....got an upper body workout I suppose!!!! But not the one I wanted. So from there on I took the body board to the beach. It's not really a swimming beach but there is great fun to be had jumping the waves....just hold onto the bikini!! Again there is a public pool beside the sea......50m....so a splash or 2 was had....so impressed by the public facilties here.

At Byron Bay you'll find the most easterly point on the Australian coast on the walk up to the lighthouse. It takes about 40min to get there walking around the headland but it's more the million steps you've to climb that's the killer as opposed to the distance. And some people run it.....torture is the only word for it! It's a beautiful walk overlooking the sea though & of all the places we've walked, we've never seen as much wildlife.....even the stuff we didn't want to see. The first day a brown snake lingered longer than an oooh aghhh so we moved on quickly, & this lizard hung around in the same spot each day & each day, frightened the crap out of me.....A woman told me one day to watch out for snakes......it's bad enough that I spend most of my time scanning the ground for them as it is but I began to imagine myself lying on the ground bitten by one......passersby running for anti-venom with none to be had!!! Anyway didn't see anymore snakes on that particular stretch thankfully.

We didn't do any partying in Byron Bay I'm afraid....mainly because the crowd was so young so had a nice few days just beaching it.....as we've been doing for most of the east coast. Think it's going to be torture when we don't have the sea at our doorstep. So from Byron.....courtesy of the friendly greyhound bus-drivers......off we went to Coff's Harbour.
😊




Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb