My Head is Leaking Profusely


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nangus
January 23rd 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DAY 442


I slept very well last night, even considering how hot it was all night, I did wake up once and felt that I could not do anything to get cool, the cool air blowing through the duct was taken by Andy, I wondered if I should push him out of bed so that the air flow would reach me, he probably wouldn’t even wake up if I did, he could sleep pegged out on a washing line in a force 9 gale.

Anyway he was up and about before I even opened my eyes, I struggled this morning, it was definitely cooler though than it was in the night and of course yesterday.

I joined Andy and Helen in the kitchen and had a cup of tea, Robert was out baling and had been since 3.00 this morning.

Andy headed outside to finish some of his jobs that he had started when we were here just 2 weeks ago. So the first one was to move the old plough give it a wipe down and then its final coat of black paint was applied and left to dry.

Next on Andy’s list was the metal garden furniture, he started to sand it down to bare metal, applied the primer and left that to dry, Andy came in with sweat dripping down his face saying that he needed a drik as his head was leaking profusely.

The day is already hot, I look at the dogs it seems that all is quiet this morning after last nights shenanigans, Wally seemed to be ignoring Toby but then maybe Wally was just wanting to stay in his kennel in the shade. I don’t think Wally expected to be beaten in battle by Toby so perhaps he is licking his wounded nose. I wondered if dogs hold grudges against each other.

My morning was a little different, I sorted out some bits and pieces ready for packing, but I had some emails to do and one really important thing on the list was to apply for a fishing licence, Andy had already researched this and I can do it online, however it seems that you can only buy a fishing licence for each state, so as we are in New South Wales for the weekend that is where I am buying a licence, although I cannot see if you need one for ACT (Australian Capital Territories) Canberra, which is where we will be spending a lot of our time in weeks to come so I will have to research that.

The buying online process was easy just select the appropriate state and pay the price according to how long you want the licence for and then I just jot down the licence number and receipt number just in case the inspector comes around while we are fishing then we can prove that we have a licence and we have already been advised that it is likely over the holiday weekend.

The morning blended into the afternoon, after lunch Robert went for a nap and then Andy disappeared so it was just Helen and Me, we sat and watched a movie on DVD “Beautiful Kate” an Australian movie directed by Rachel Ward and starred her husband Bryan Brown, there was also a DVD of two short movies so we watched those as well.

You do have to appreciate apart from the fact that it is nice to sit down and watch a film, but when it is so hot outside an afternoon indoors with the air conditioning on is a really pleasure then when it gets cooler outside you feel like doing more things.

In this case, after I had fed the chickens we went out to the low level bridge to try our hand at fishing again. This time we had a secret weapon, cheese, yes I said cheese! Apparently this is the way to catch fish, so we have to give it a try.

The sun is still quite warm, so we seek the shady part of the bridge where we can stay cool, Andy baits the line up with the cheese and away it goes, cast out into the middle of the river to try his luck, the good news is that the cheese stays on the line, far better than the bread, when we retrieve the line, the cheese is still there.

So Andy has a few more tries, a couple of times the cheese disappears we think that we may have had a nibble, so once again we are feeding the fish.

Andy said to me, “your turn!” So I bated the line then cast out into the river but it was not a very good one so I cast again, I realised I lost my piece of cheese when I reeled the line in so a quite re bait and I cast again. Ooops! The line went straight into the trees on the rivers edge so the Willows are now on the end of the line and there is no way that I am able to reel the line in, it is well and truly hooked.

So Andy had no option but to cut the line, so our fishing for tonight is over, so we head back to Nangus, we hoped to see Jason on the way back but he was not in.

Helen had prepared dinner so while we were waiting for Robert I had a quick shower, when I returned Robert had still not come back and Andy was outside tinkering around, I think he was sorting the line out on the fishing rod and sprayed a coat of pain on the garden furniture.

So Helen and I sat and had a glass of wine and watched “Bed of Roses” which is a serial that has been on TV the last few weeks. I went out to feed Tiny and top up her water bowl then let her out for a run, she is so pleased, however she wont run down to the house until I have sorted her yard out, I gave it a sweep, put some food in the bowl and topped up her water, she kept running back to me until I was ready to go back to the house.

On the way back I fed Kimba, but the other dogs were out working so I just left some food for them ready for when they returned.

Tiny in the meantime was having a whale of a time she was running around like crazy, she has so much energy, but Andy forgot he left his thongs (flip flops) outside the door and it was not long before they were on the lawn so Andy had to go and retrieve them. Never ever leave your thongs where Tiny can get them, she will destroy them!

After dinner we Skyped the Trumans, it seems that they had some news they were eager to share, if you were reading when we were in Broome you may remember that we met a couple called Carol and Carl, they were in the early days of a years adventure and they have now made it as far round as Victoria and are in Inverloch with the Truman family (the Travelin Trueys).

We spoke for a while, but it was time to go as our battery was running down, and so we plugged in to recharge and then we all sat around reading for a while before bedtime, Andy was working on the blog but I needed to finish it up so I sat in bed finishing it off and Andy uploaded it.

We set the alarm for the morning as we need to be up at 6.00am to try our luck at morning fishing . It was 11.00 and definitely time for lights out otherwise I would not be getting out of bed early.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb