Lazy day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Manly
October 11th 2001
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was more of a relaxing day, especially after such a hectic few days. The weather was not so good. Very gloomy with rain in the air, so it was a good day to not go out too far.

Sure enough, midway through the morning, the rain fell, and it was the only bad day’s weather I experienced in the whole three weeks. I needed to get a few bits and pieces, so we went to Warriewood Shopping Centre, on Jacksons Road (just off Pittwater Road) in Warriewood. Danielle was home today, so she drove Damon, Bryan and myself in her car, which was Vic’s old ‘Holden Commodore’. Holden’s are basically the Australian version of Vauxhall.

Whilst in the shopping centre, we took a look around a book sale set up in the main centre. There was a lovely book in there, which contained lots of Sydney waterfront photos. I thought this would be a good memento of all the places I would’ve visited by the end of my stay. Danielle saw it and agreed it would be a great book to take home, simply for the photos, so she bought it for me, so that I could be reminded of her by it when I came home.

As we set foot out of the mall, the heavens opened once again, and the rain didn’t stop. It had been brewing all morning, and it seemed like it was now here to stay for the duration of the day, though the temperature was still a good 23ºC (73°F).

Once back at Bryan’s, Damon showed me his computer, for an hour or so. Then in mid-afternoon in between the showers, we went on a trip to a Ford dealership, called Titan-Ford, in Manly. We stopped and had a chat with one of the salesmen there, and told him of all the cars back home in England, and he told me about all the new launch cars for Australia. We both knew what we were talking about as well, and he informed me that he had emigrated from England many years back. Every other year he pops back home to see family. I got a couple of brochures, so I was pleased, as that was my main aim.

We then went to Warringah Mall, where I put another completed camera film in for developing, which should take a day or two. I also buy a couple of $1 (30p) posters for Kerry and Adam from the ‘Australian Geographic’ store there.

This evening, Eileen, Vic and Lorna came round for a roast pork dinner, during which I introduce them to the chilled-out sounds of St. Germain.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb