A fine day in Jindabyne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Jindabyne
July 5th 2005
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Is that where the Yogasutra takes place?Is that where the Yogasutra takes place?Is that where the Yogasutra takes place?

We noticed that you could wake up early to participate in the "Yoga-sutra" activities up at Ontos BUT we were all too scared to take a peek for fear of what we might see! lol
Frigging freezing night.
Took all night to get cozy.
We go to snow now.

I can't believe that I went to bed last night with frozen buttocks! lol Yes, it was super cold out last night! I woke up with a sore throat this morning but it only lasted about 1/2 hour. Guess I was breathing through my mouth last night or something. Or fear among fears...I'm getting sick?!?

We spent a lot of today driving on windy roads because we're driving through the Snow Mountains. So we spend a lot of time playing games like celebrity head and naming movies etc. Plus I seemed to nap quite a lot today. I just couldn't keep my eyes open!

Once we got up to Jindabyne and went up the mountain to the snow/ice. We first threw a few snowballs and then it became a full on snowball fight. Confirmation that I can't throw very accurately or very far! After a while we had to call a truce because it was starting to get a bit out of hand. Before heading up there I wanted to go sledding but once up there realized that it was super icy and decided
There's snow up at Jindabyne!There's snow up at Jindabyne!There's snow up at Jindabyne!

Well, sort of. It was actually quite icy...
to go for some hot drinks instead.

Before we knew it, it was time to head back to the bus and head back down the hill to our accommodations. Boy was that a cold walk back to the bus. It is amazing how cold it gets once the sun goes down. Plus the winds picked up so it was even colder. Then we got an update on Lucy, one of our fellow bus mates. She apparently hurt herself while tobogganing. I believe her tailbone needs to be x-rayed. Apparently the technician only comes out a couple of times a weeks and she'll have to be taken by ambulance to the nearest hospital in Cooma and stay overnight. I sure hope she is covered by insurance...

We all proceeded down the hill and got ready for dinner at the pub in our hotel. Some people went for a dip in the pool or checked out the sauna but I decided to not go and just shower up since there are seven girls in our room and one bathroom I thought the odds of me getting in there before dinner were pretty slim.

For dinner we all had a huge chicken schnitzel and loads of different salads. It was super busy because of the school holidays and it also being the busy ski season. Everyone wanted to go out tonight so after dinner we went back to our room to "get ready" before heading out for the night. I actually was ready, already. How much more do you have to "prep" yourself for a night at the pub??? So I rested on my bed and joked with Donna while everyone was getting ready.

There was a Toohey's promotion going on where if you bought a Toohey's you'd get a coupon to shoot three hoops in hopes of winning free stuff. Hats. Beanies. Keychains. Thongs. T-shirts. Ashley kept getting a lot of free tickets and won piles of stuff. She offered lots to me but I only took a t-shirt since I had given my free coupons to her. I figure since she was on the Net ball team back in school her chances of getting the hoops was way better than mine!

Ashley was ready for some fun and drinking since she knew some people up there that she met while learning to become a ski instructor up at Whistler and I ended up helping her watch some of her stuff for some of the night...well, until midnight. But that is okay, since I was chatting with some of my fellow bus mates like Nick, Arna and Cat. Ashley came back to the room around 1AM for wine but stayed out til 7AM! I don't know how some people can do that...I guess the key word in that sentence would be young. LOL


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb