Bodyboarding Hurts


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Coffs Harbour
October 13th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Claires favourite day to date. She cannot stop beaming at my misfortune and therefore her good luck.

The day started peacefully if slightly strenuously for my liking, with Claire, somehow, convincing me to Kayak down the river.

As we all know i have a slight (ok massive) fear of sharks and crocodiles (quite justified i like to think) and so my first task before commiting myself to the horribly energetic task was checking with 3 individual locals that the river housed no death inspiring, body crunching animals.

When completely assured we took to the river.

Ironically although a hater of all exercise other that swimming in the water, I do actually enjoy canoeing and so we quickly got into a slow pace down the river. I stifled many laughs when Claire genuinely sulked that she left her camera at the hostel and we paddled our meery way down the waterway.

Birds were scatteredaround the shallows and reeds rose up through the dark waters to form an absolutely spectacular scenic route as we glided down the river.

After a brief stop at the Jetty topping up our tans in the heat we paddled back to the Hostel.

After a quick lunch Claire had me back on my feet for the next installment of my waterfilled day.

Off we plodded towards the white beach to try our hand at Bodyboarding. We excitedly slashed about in the surf, riding the waves about as gracefully as a 20 tonne ballerine then OUCH! smacked in the face by the bodyboard.

I stumbled to the shallow water, my nose and lips throbbing, Claire caught a glance at me and these 3 words of encouragement came from her mouth "OH MY GOD". A bit panicked by her reaction i removed my hand from my face to find it covered in blood. Luckily it was a giant nostbleed from being hit by the EVIL piece of solid foam.

The rest of the evening was spent with Claire inspecting my face every 20 minutes, praying to all Gods in the simple hope that i would have a large, attractive bruise. Happily for me the Gods were finallyon my side and saved me from that last speck of embarrassment. I get the distinct impression by Claires delight however that this attractive portrayal of me will be told to many people for years to come. Hold up, I can hear her practising her lines now.

Kelly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb