Not a good start to the day in Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
October 3rd 2013
Published: October 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The coach journey was soooo long (overnight!) and I forgot my subway to eat on the coach and forgot my water.. Had to pay almost $5 for one at a service station! Also I only had my shorts on and the aircon was on so got really cold - had to wear my hoodie on my legs so I put my legs through the arm holes!! I took my blow up pillow with me too and that burst as we were leaving Sydney so the whole coach journey was a disaster!

I finally arrived in Byron bay and the weather was really hot, a girl came to pick me up from the bus stop who seemed really nice and told me all the plans for the evening! I thought things were starting to look good until...

I walked in my room having come from an all female dorm of 8-10 girls a private shower and separate private loo and what I saw in front of me was this huge, dirty dorm sleeping 16 people with stuff everywhere and smelly guys sprawled out on their beds across the entire room And the door was wide open for anyone to walk in and I couldn't even find my locker due to the amount of stuff in the room, with no plug socket in sight either! I wanted to cry and go back to Sydney and my lovely friends immediately!

I took a shower in the outside toilets keeping my flip flops on! Then had a look around Byron mainly for another hostel to stay in! I went straight into this lovely looking one with a cute little cafe outside and booked 3 more nights in a 10 bed female only corn for when I check out of the current one.. Only 2 nights in the stinky 16 bed I'm sure it will be ok!

The beach was lovely and Byron is a really cute town, although I did feel like I had made a mistake leaving Sydney and the people there!

The girl who picked me up in the bus was in my room but when she walked in she didn't say a word to me and every time I walked past them they seemed to have their own group and didn't really want to welcome other people in.

I tried to make an effort in the evening to get involved and be positive so went out with the hostel to cheeky monkeys where there was a deal of $5 meal and a free drink. i had to wait over an hour for the free drinks to arrive, everyone had said cheekys was good but it had no atmosphere I was feeling tired from the coach and drained from the bad day so I just walked home and went to bed... Thank goodness for eye masks and ear plugs!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.7kb