Culmination of Biking


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
July 18th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Crescent HeadLeaving Crescent HeadLeaving Crescent Head

On my way out of Crescent Head after a great couple of days.
I have had an amazing time on the road. I really fell into the routine and even a week into it was regretting that it would have to come to an end. Now with just 2 days left of cycling I am sad that I won't be on the road for much longer. I'm not sad about the semis and some of the other drivers but sad that the journey is coming to an end. During my three weeks on the road I met extremely friendly people and enjoyed great conversations with folks everywhere I went. I came across a quote the other day which said: "Not all who wander are lost", and I thought that was so true. I am presently fantasizing about taking a year, (or more) off of work to do some serious wandering 😊

I have just spent 3 great days in Byron Bay. I finally got to see the whales that I had been hearing about since my arrival in Australia. I spent over 4 hours up at the lighthouse staring out at the ocean and watching the whales, it was a great day. In Byron I have met some beautiful people and wish I
YambaYambaYamba

Arrival at Yamba just before heading over to Iluka.
could stay to discover more of this amazing place. The fact that I've spent almost the same amount for accommodation in 4 nights here as I have in the 21 days prior is one reason to keep moving. And this is the off-season! But I do hope to be back some day.

In a few days I'll arrive in Brisbane and it'll be trains, planes and cars from then on - a different type of traveling, a little more ordinary. It'll be an interesting shift in gears. My next entry will be a compare and contrast entry. Until then, keep looking up at the stars, that's what I've been doing every night 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Byron BayByron Bay
Byron Bay

At the most Eastern point of Australia


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb