My Didgeridoo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Finished productFinished productFinished product

This is me with shop owner Anthony. I'm holding what is the final product of three days work. It was so satisfying.
My time in Byron bay has been split between a handful of activities. One that has consumed a bit more of my time than the others is the didgeridoo that I made. You may be asking yourself, “How did he make that didgeridoo?” If you I’m glad to explain. I can’t take all credit for the creation. I need to thank some contributing artists, the termites of the Australian bush. A didgeridoo is an aboriginal instrument that is quite literally a branch from a tree that has been hollowed out by termites. They come in all shapes and sizes. Where did the termites finish and I begin? Well, I pretty much had a hollow branch with bark on it. From there I spent the three days peeling off bark, chiseling out the ends to improve the sound quality, sanding, drawing designs and then burning the design into the didgeridoo, pouring hot bee’s wax down the hollow to improve sound as well, and finally I painted a very nice coat of varnish to give a clean and complete look. All that work and 100 Australian dollars later and I have a finished product that I am starting to learn how to play.
The beginingThe beginingThe begining

This is what I started with, not knowing what I would do.


The process was so fun and rewarding. For those of you who know anything about me then you are probably aware that the only art form I have ever been any good at is sport. When it came to crafts I either didn’t have the patients and I never trusted my own skill. The owner of the workshop, Anthony, was so encouraging along the way. He advertises that he will help you design the didg and if you want he will paint or draw anything for you. At multiple points during the process I wanted to just call out for his assistance. But each time he asked me “Are you sure?” Of course I wasn’t and I really wanted to be able to say that I did it all at the end. I made it to the end. Some of the people who were in the workshop with me for the duration were really impressed with my product. This guy who worked there, far out hippy, kept telling me that the process of making a didgeridoo is so spiritual. With each step you are putting good energy into the instrument. He was right in every way.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hard WorkHard Work
Hard Work

Me scraping away at the wood. Trying to realize the finished product I saw in my mind. It has been hard.
Blood and SweatBlood and Sweat
Blood and Sweat

Close up of the bloody index finger. Like I said, its not easy work.
Hard at workHard at work
Hard at work

This is me burning the designs that I drew on my didg. It took forever and I didn't escape without a few small burns on my fingers and smoke stinging my eyes.
Take your pickTake your pick
Take your pick

This is where the big decision took place. A big pile of crude branches to start the process from. My choice was easy, the didg called out to me....


8th July 2006

nothing like a didg
and that is real. this is such a sweet story, I can just see the process unfolding. And to now have an instrument that can travel along with you, to create and share music(!) vibes, expression...just another simple and amazing attribute to days on the road...with a soundtrack! i love it marc, absolutely love this. xox
15th July 2006

The great adventure
I've loved hearing about all your adventures so far. This is the one I can really picture you in. The pictures are great but I have seen you hard at work so many times and I know that your heart and soul went into the didg. Oh yeah, a little blood too. Love Love Love

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb