If Music be the food of love, play on


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
April 24th 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Blues Fest 2011Blues Fest 2011Blues Fest 2011

Michael Franti rocking the house
I can't believe it has only been 4days I have spent in Byron because it feels like I have been here a 2weeks. I feel somewhat at home here in this busy little town. After seeing some of the nightlife this town has to offer on our first night, Michelle and I have since had the opportunity to wander the streets of Byron, day and night and take in the festival atmosphere. With rain forecast each day, we were worried our first night how it would be at the festival on thursday, which as it turned out, was a glorious sunny day, followed by more sunny beautiful days.
Going to any music festival is always going to be entertaining, especially for me, someone who hates crowds to the point where thinking about them can send me spiralling into panic and distress. I guess it started out with some anxiety as the lineup alone to catch the 10minute shuttle bus ride to the event, took over an hour and a half. By the time we actually made it, I had missed Xavier Rudd, one of the main acts I went to see. To my relief he was playing the next day...phew!
The
Blues Fest 2011Blues Fest 2011Blues Fest 2011

Michelle and I enjoying the arvo sunshine and music
first band I saw ended up being Michael Franti and Spearhead, and for anyone who hasnt been to one of their gigs, I suggest you get to one if you feel like a whole lot of dancing and good vibes. He was the stand out act for me at this festival and I was lucky enough to see him twice. The first night ended with the symphonic harmony of Ben Harper and Relentless 7 who were also amazing, and then we made our way home, dragging our freezing cold feet through wet, muddy grass, sqelching between our toes, jeans covered in dirt and it was at this point I wondered "Am I a festival kind of girl?" I came to the conclusion Friday morning I wasn't, but that going to a 5day music festival, was something one should do in this lifetime. To my surprise and relief, I got to bluesfest friday and was more relaxed for some reason (probably from the second-hand weed smoke) and feel in love with this festival. We saw a guy called Eric Bibb, who I have now got a few of his cd's and I am loving his deep southern blues tunes, and I am hoping to catch him in Brisbane or Noosa in the next couple weeks. Xavier Rudd was also brilliant, Wolfmother entertaining and I even found myself enjoying Kasey Chamber. All-in-all I have had so much fun, and seeing some of my favourite bands in an atmosphere that is created by music lovers of all kinds, and also realizing that in the whole time I was there, I never saw one fight or the police dragging people off in all kind of states, making this a truly "hippy" festival, one I cant wait to come back to do again

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb