Christmas in Byron


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
January 3rd 2011
Published: January 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

We jumped straight in to the sea on Christmas morning to bob around in the surf which was ice blue and deliciously fizzy and foamy like creamy lemonade soda. Arnaud played with his new body board and was very cute, and after a breakfast of French patisseries followed by bacon and eggs, he he, we strolled, read and lazed before firing up the barby for Christmas dinner. We had prepared a cool box stuffed to the brim with ice and James Squire beer (my favourite crisp hoppy pale ale) and lunch. Arnaud excelled himself again serving up a 2kg Snapper (the smallest the shop had left ) plump, meaty and charred with tender stem broccoli garnished with local fresh macadamia nuts which he had caramelised with lime and chilli. There was mountains of roast tatties with lashings of garlic and ginger, it was so good I lost the power of speech beyond saying ummmmmmmmmmmmmmm every two seconds.

In the evening on Boxing Day we strolled along a gorgeous almost deserted beach further down the coast. It had been warm and drizzling all-day and threatening thunder. The effect on the horizon was dark smokey grey which a texture like it had been brushed on with oil paints, moody like a Turner. I couldn’t capture this with my little camera. In the moonlight we watched lots of tiny crabs darting between their holes in the sand. They were so translucently pale, only just visible they were spheres of air whizzing by.

I was in the internet café reading a comment from dad about wanting to see a picture of a red back before logging off and heading back to Arnaud who was sitting on the bed in the van grilling the toast for breakfast. I looked up, froze, and said “you should leave the van through the back door”, gah, directly above his head was a harry the hairy huntsman. It was the size of my hand. It must have crawled in to the van when I was lazing on the bed earlier reading my book, the side door was open and we were parked next to a tall grass verge. So dad, here’s a nice picture for you. Arnaud has arachnophobia and was shaking when he had to catch it in the colander, hah hah.

We spontaneously decided to leave Byron bay as no one had called back about work yet. We headed up the Gold coast toward Brisbane thinking we may have more luck up there. We landed for the night across the bay from ‘surfer’s paradise’, an alien looking metropolis, kinda creepy. Many of the beaches around here are how I imagine California to be, everyone is jogging or power walking wearing flash sports gear, unnaturally buff men posing in speedos and bronzing babes in minute bikinis hoping to be checked out or scouted.

Last night I was chuffed to see a giant toad and a brown owl on my way to the toilet.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Alien metropolisAlien metropolis
Alien metropolis

Surfers paradise
HibiscusHibiscus
Hibiscus

The largest hibiscus flower I have ever seen, about 25cm across.
Nim bin schoolNim bin school
Nim bin school

A hippy community in the mountains.


3rd January 2011

Wow!!
What an amazing Christmas....and your lunch was to die for. Find a man who can really cook....what a good idea!!! I enjoy your photos so much ...you have a good eye ...this must be the journey of a life time for you. Are you thinking of stopping to find a temporay home anywhere yet?....or still travelling for a while? My Cyristmas was very weird....as I had always gone to Devon to make sure mum had a christmas lunch on previous years ...so this year there was a huge void to fill. Next year ...I will fill my home with people i think ...thats what I would like on Christmas day. Onwards and upwards XX K
3rd January 2011
Hairy Harry Huntsman

Hairy Harriet
Maybe Hairy Harry is really Harriet and has left lots of little spiderettes for you. Arnaud could put a lead on her and have her as a pet and take her for walks ha ha! Hope you aren't affected by all those floods in Queensland. DadXX
3rd January 2011

Keep those wheels turning!
Are you making this up? Aussie news is all horendous floods, chaos and mayhem.....and you spin a most enviable yarn of idyllic bliss. Your food descriptions make my stomach churn.....well the state of Gujarat is dry and the Hindus are vegetarian (I am living with said H's) where we have a mess of goo and rice to be eaten with chapatis and fingers. Tomorrow I will spend a day with a local kitemaker (no English) but next week have been invited, under police guard, to the Raan of Kutch...the salt mashlands on the border with Pakistan. If you don't hear from me again......please offer up a chocolate twist at the wake! Have you eaten kangaroo road kill? P O'D
4th January 2011

diving
I hear therre's very cheap diving holidays in Queensland right now
4th January 2011

Blog from a blogophobe
Hi Emm Your life consists of 'Once more unto the b(r)each', and in Queensland 'The rain it raineth every day.' I'm having to resort to the Bard to compete with your magnificent prose; you could land a job at Lonely Planet. You appear to be heading north at a rate of knots and the crocodiles, taking advantage of the horrendous floods ( have you heard?) are heading in your direction. I hope Arnaud's filleting knife is as good as Crocodile Dundee's. We are looking forward to a mere week in the Caribbean. No speedos or bikinis for your dad and me but I will take my M&S one-piece in case I'm tempted. Meanwhile Thea has announced she is off to Barbados at the end of Jan so Charlie will be left holding the cat for a couple of days. The photos are good. Kathy (Hello Kathy and Paul) is right about your eye, but then I always said so. Is it the right or the left? Your photo of A dazed looking Arnaud is paparazzi standard. Your van looks cosy and I suppose the spider thinks so too. Look after ourselves. love MumXX
11th January 2011

hey
all looks fabulous, just want to make sure havn't floated away. lots of love to both of you xx

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb