Time to see Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
September 25th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

And the Australian journey begins...

So long Sydney and a 12 hour bus journey later, hello Byron Bay.

It was pretty cold when I left Sydney so I was kitted out in a jumper, jacket, jeans and trainers but looking out of the window upon arrival at Byron, all I could see were shorts, t-shirts and flip flops. Finally some good weather!

I get of the bus and a guy from my hostel is waiting with a little van. One minute later and I'm home.

Check in , walk into the room and I have my first ever meeting with the lovely Franzi who wanted to check out Byron. And so we did...

First stop, the beach! The lighthouse overlooking it and it was surrounded by distant hills. Beautiful. Then a walk into the hippy/surfy town for a browse with surf and bead shops being the main staple.

We return to our room to find it filled with three sleeping English guys. Who turn out to be a little crazy to say the least. I don't think
they stopped talking rubbish the entire I was there but they were great and two of them were in Montanita at the same time as me...random!

The weather turned a bit cloudy but I was determined to get some beach time so I went with the all the Germans in my room to go sit on the sand . Twenty minutes later and I;m too cold so I walk back to recover from the bus journey.

Later, the hostel put on a BBQ with live music so we all just sat outside taking in the atmosphere.

Then it was time for Cheeky Monkey! THE club of Byron Bay. People dancing on tables and chairs and Champagne cheaper than lemonade. I understand why people like here so much. At about 1am, I lose the people I'm with and decide to walk home - no where in Byron is far away. Two Aussie guys start talking to me on the way about backpacking and how they want to do it. Then offer to walk me home safely. "Safely?!"

"But I don't actually know you!"

They didn't take no for an answer and happily walked me back to the hostel and gave me a big hug and went on their merry way. Strange.

Next morning and the Sun had put his hat on. Another trip to the beach. I love it! So I lie there taking it all in till I get bored and hit the shops again. Come back to spend the evening playing cards and meeting people.

Good start to my Australian Adventure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 99; dbt: 0.181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb