Tim Tam Slam!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
February 20th 2010
Published: February 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

2/20/10

So on our way out the door to go sea kayaking we got a call saying it was too choppy and we should reschedule. SO we planned for the next day and then looked at eachother wondering what to do at 8am, go back to sleep or try to be productive. Well laying on the beach covered all bases so that’s where I went! Later that night we went back to the Rails our favorite live music venue where I finally found a piano! It was in the back bar area so when the guy performing in the other room would take a break I would play and sing softly. It was great since I hadn’t seen a piano in sooooo long.

The next morning we woke up AGAIN to go sea kayaking. Perfect conditions literally, it had rained the whole night before and that morning was perfectly clear skies! I had to ride with one of the instructors since I travel with a couple everywhere I go! That turned out to be great though because he could steer perfectly and show me where all the dolphins were! We got so lucky to see about 12 dolphins all swimming around us and a few babies as well! They came right up to our boats, rode some waves and showed off doing flips in the air! It was sooo amazing! Right as me and the instructor were saying how peaceful it was and we could stay out there forever some boats started saying they felt sea sick and wanted to go back or one girl had asthma. This meant the end of peaceful because my instructor had to bring them back. So Megan had to switch boats with another girl…in the middle of the ocean…with waves all around. More amazing than the dolphins is the fact that I didn’t fall in! And more amazing than all of that is that my fear of the ocean and waves was not realized that day until I was literally in the middle of the ocean miles from land. I’d say that was conquering my fear more than surfing! But I am determined to do it!

So we ended up going back to shore about 10-15 minutes after the sick ones anyway and rodes waves into the beach which was pretty fun. Then we had tea time and I did my first tim tam slam! Tim Tams are these amazingly delicious little cookies covered in chocolate. A tim tam slam is when you bite off the ends and suck the tea through it. At some point the chocolate all melts and the cookie goes completely mushy making a bit of a delicious mess. As you could guess I did several of those since I love my sugar!
The moment we got back in the van to go back to our hostel it started raining and continued the rest of the day! So perfect doesn’t even describe the weather we had that morning. After showers we decided to go to the movies to see Valentine’s Day. While we waited for it to start we went to the rails AGAIN and I played the piano some more. The movie ended up being fantastic with the exception of Taylor Swift who should definitely not try acting lol.

Our last night was spent of course at the rails with some more great music! The next day we had till the about 3 till our bus to Brisbane came so we went back to the Rails lol jammed out with Ryan on the guitar and me on piano and then onto Brisbane! I’m a bit knackered right now so I will continue with the Brisbane adventures later!


Advertisement



20th February 2010

You love to live
Hi Meg, This one sounded fun and you are having a good time. I'm glad that you are finding places to sing. Be safe. Ed

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb