Didge Baby George!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
December 21st 2005
Published: December 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Decided there was only one thing for it...I just had to paint my own didgeridoo. Be it the insatiable urge to squander my money on tourist trap tat or the fact that I actually thought I might be able to play it one day. It was a great decision.

Went along to the nice people along side 'Peterpans' and met Anthony who helped me chose the actual didge wood with lauren. Its the best bit of wood, of course. Really gorgeous swirly grain and big and long so it will create a deep sound.

Chose a snake to paint on it and again Anthony mapped it out onto the wood, should leave these things for the experts.

Lauren and I laid the first brush strokes onto to snake in black and blocked out the design. Was lots and lots of fun, just like being back at primary school.

Spent the next few days going in and out of the studio adding on millions of dots! Finally chose to add on small aborigional tokens, namely two little humps that represents woman- Lauren and I- and then a little line that represents man - James - on the otherside
Anthony gets to workAnthony gets to workAnthony gets to work

Didg genius Anthony sketches out the snake as George is born.
of the snake. Finished off the Didge Baby, who shall from now be know as George laurens and my handprints at the base.

Looks pretty cool even if I do say so myself. A nice reminder of Byron and Oz in general.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Naked GeorgeThe Naked George
The Naked George

George prior to Kat's creative outpour!
The work begins...The work begins...
The work begins...

Lauren looks so thin and brown. I on the other hand need to work on my Tunni side profile! But more importantly we are both painting George!!
Attempts to play George not going according to plan..Attempts to play George not going according to plan..
Attempts to play George not going according to plan..

Who made the smell?? They are both leaning away from each other and both looking guilty!
The artist and her creation are as one..The artist and her creation are as one..
The artist and her creation are as one..

or maybe not, its hardly a melodic sound!
Tunni and GeorgeTunni and George
Tunni and George

Yes, I look silly but i was trying to play George for the first time and it was proving very difficult. Especially with an audience!
More GeorgeMore George
More George

Is it just meor does Stephanie look a little bored of the whole didg scene?


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb