BYRON BAY


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
March 9th 2008
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy Spring Break to everyone! I’m pretty sure everyone is either on Spring Break now or will be soon. We don’t get a break here, but I am not complaining at all since this whole semester is basically like Spring Break. I have been working on my schedule for the next semester, and it’s really going to be an adjustment after not really using my brain this whole time.
This morning I got back from Byron Bay, the most eastern point in Australia. A group of us drove there yesterday, went to the beach for a bit, and had a barbeque. Then we headed into town to look at the shops and the town. Byron Bay is a stereotypical hippy town. For those of you who are from Indy, it’s like Broad Ripple times 100. The town is cute and it looks like it would make a fun little college town. There are loads of stores and restaurants, and hippies just standing around. It would not be unusual to be offered illegal substances there especially since it is near Nimbin, which is like an Australian version of Amsterdam. We could smell marijuana just walking down the street…GAG.
After walking around we met up to drive to the lighthouse for sunset. We just hung out there for a while and took pictures and after the sun went down some of the group went back home. The rest of us were “hard-core” and wanted to stay up for the sunrise. So we went to dinner and then just sat on the beach for about 2 hours, just talking and goofing off. I was getting cold because it was really windy, so one of the guys was like, “I told you to bring warm clothes!” I said I thought jeans and a sweatshirt were considered to be warm considering we are on the beach in Australia. I said, “What was I supposed to wear? Snowpants???” They thought this was the most hilarious thing ever. They were like, “What are snowpants?” I guess they had never heard of such a thing because they have never seen snow. Haha, I absolutely love all of the cultural differences, it makes the most normal, ordinary things seem hysterical. Anyways, since it was cold, some of us went back to my friend Jimi’s car. We attempted to sleep, but I really only got bits and pieces of like 5 hours of sleep. At 5 am we got back up and drove back to the lighthouse for sunrise. We were SO exhausted, but it was worth it because it was so pretty! I took way too many pictures.
After that, we grabbed a quick brekkie and drove back home. I fell asleep in the car, but woke up due to the crazy Australian drivers. Like I’ve said before, every single intersection has round-a-bouts, so driving in a car is like a carnival-rollercoaster-type experience. They never slow down for the round-a-bouts, they just plow right on through, so everyone in the car is tossed to one side. It’s lovely…
After I got back to campus, I unpacked and went for a run with my roomie and then took a nap! I never really do much on Sundays; just laundry and homework, and things like that, so today was uneventful.
Next weekend a big group of us are going to Melbourne. I am so excited. We are going on a tour through the school and going to the Great Ocean Road and St. Phillip’s Island. Apparently, you go to this island and watch all of these little mini penguins scamper about. For the other 2 days we are on our own, so I am trying to plan things and do some research about what we can do, because I want to make the most of it and see everything. PLUS, I realized I only have about 40 days left here! I cannot believe how fast it has gone. Tear!
Have a good break!
Love,
Kelly



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



9th March 2008

Soo jealous.. You're on the beach; I'm in the snow. It just seems wrong somehow.. Glad you're having fun, but can't wait for you to come back!
9th March 2008

lovely
Yay, for Sunday Blogday! Sounds like an amazing couple of days! If it's not in the plans, you should try to get to some of the botanical gardens in Melbourne. They're really pretty. You could go for a run and study there or something.
9th March 2008

Wow
Kel Bel, Wow, what a beautiful area! I've seen a few lighthouses in my day, but never one as beautiful as this. Wish I could have been there. We love the blogs and the opportunity to share in your fun adventures. Love, Mom
9th March 2008

great time!
Sounds like you are having a great time! The pictures that accompany your adventures are beautiful! Have fun! Love, Jean Ann
9th March 2008

Really?
How do you know what marijuana smells like? Do tell. Been smoking the reefer on the Great Barrier Reef?
10th March 2008

Glad to know you're having a great time! My psuedo break starts next wednesday...we can travel wherever we want but we have to write a paper on it! I think i'm going up to Sichuan province to go to the panda reserve! :D miss you bunches dear.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb