Surfing, Rugby, & Mullets


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast
March 2nd 2008
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!
I hope everybody had a fantabulous week. Last week was mid-semester, so everyone was studying for their midterms. I guess I got lucky because I didn’t have any for some reason. bummer. 😊
The campus was pretty dead this weekend. Three of my friends went sky-diving (P.S. The only reason I did not go with them is because it scares my Mother to death, but I desperately wanted to do it!) Pretty much the rest of the Americans went to Sydney for Mardi-Gras. I’m going to Sydney over Easter so I didn’t really want to go for that too. So Friday was pretty chill- I slept in for once, went to the gym, and went to the pool. Later, I watched "Rent" and "Lost" re-runs with my friend Bryanna.
The Quiksilver Surf Championship 2008 is going on right now, so everybody has been going to watch. I was told that the big-name guys were surfing on Saturday, but when we got there the girls were surfing instead b/c the waves were not big enough for the guys. Not to bash my own gender or anything, but watching 15 year old girls try to catch a wave is clearly not a fun as getting to watch Kelly Slater. So unfortunately we didn’t see any famous surfer dudes, but it was still a fun experience. Later that evening, I went to a rugby game!!!! The stadium was brand new and the game was between the Gold Coast Titans and the Sydney Tigers. The only thing we knew about rugby was that it was a cross between football and soccer. Other than that I was totally clueless, so I asked Bryanna how we were supposed to figure this out. She said we would just watch it and pick it up as we went. But of course me being me, I turned right around to the family sitting behind us and said, “Excuse me sir…um how does this whole thing work exactly?” He started laughing and explained the basics to us and continued to give us tid-bits of information throughout the game. It was actually really cool. The players don’t wear any sort of protection WHATSOEVER, so they have to be in really good shape. I honestly don’t think that American Football could stand a chance against these guys (sorry CATS). They totally just tackle each other at full speed and get back up without a scratch!! The game just keeps going because there aren’t all of those ridiculous timeouts to delay the game, so each team gets six continuous tackles before the ball changes possession and it just keeps going like that.
Today I went to church and applied for summer jobs in the hospital. Next weekend I am going to Byron Bay, which is the eastern most point in Australia. We are going to camp out and stay up for the sunrise, so that should be amazing! I can't wait!
On another completely random note, I have made some more observations about Australians and it seems like they are a bit behind when it comes to fashion. I feel like I have traveled straight back to the 80’s every time I walk across campus or go into a clothing store. Girls wear straight-leg jeans or leggings and guys like to wear neon colored shirts with super tight short shorts. What is more, they also tend to sport the ever so attractive mullet and/or rat-tail. Maybe I am missing something, but as far as I know, that look was NEVER in! haha - it makes me giggle. Oh, and people walk around bare-foot too!
That’s about all for now, this time it’s a bit short!
Take Care,
Love,
Kelly


Advertisement



2nd March 2008

Thank you!
Yay! Blog in Bed! Love you adventures (although I still think you should have gone skydiving). Mom would have been worried, but you would have been just fine and very happy for having done it. Oh well. Another time, maybe.
2nd March 2008

no sky-diving?
Well, aren't you the good daughter. Katie, your sister, my daughter, called my on a Friday night from the Czech Republic to inform me she would be sky-diving in the morning. I thanked her for calling to let me know (but wished she had waited until after the dive). She promised to call right after the event on Saturday. My one question to her was "are you getting your instructions in English?". By the way, as you know she lived. :)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb