Watch out for snakes!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
January 25th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I belive I left off last time on my way to Byron Bay. I had me these two Aussies , Tom and Luke, who were driving around Australia stopping at all of the big things (the big banana, the big pineapple...kind og like the big egg in Vegreville) and they wanted someone new to talk to, so I hopped a ride with them up to Byron Bay. Unfortunately every single bed in Byron was booked out when we got there. The boys already had a place to stay so they lent me their tent and I went camping for the night. It was pretty good. The night-time animals here make noises that I'm certainly not used to so that made my 2km walk to the camp a little interesting. The only word of advice that I got from the boys was to keep the bottom zipper of the tent done up otherwise snakes would crawl into my warm dark sleeping bag. I made it through sans-snakes, so all in all it was a good night. I also had a chance to try a meat pie, and they're delicious.
Byron Bay is probably the best place I've been so far. Everyone here is so relaxed it's almost unbelievable. One morning I met a guy on the beach who had taken the day off of work to just sit and watch the waves and chill out. I spend most of my days at the beach, reading and journaling, finally doing all of the things that I'm supposed to do on this vacation: nothing. I got in some surfing in Byron, which was suprisingly cheap ($30 for the day, only $100 for the week, much cheaper than Canada). The surf was increadible. I was told it was a small day, but it was pretty similar to a great day in Tofino. I surfed wrek beach where there's a huge anchor in the water which caused me a little concern, sometimes it came pretty close. Since it was a small day only tourists were surfing and that made me look like a pro with a tiny board. It was so much fun, I love surfing!
I spent my evenings in Byron eating fish and chips and watching the sunset. There're always people playing the guitar on the beach and they're usually pretty good. One night there was a fire dance at one of the hostels so I went there for a BBQ and performance. One night I went out to the backpakcers bar and that strengthened my belief that I'm not the average backpacker (trying to hook up with as many internationals as possible, and doing anything for money).
Next stop is Surfers Paradise, a land of skyrises and posh beach goers...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Byron BayByron Bay
Byron Bay

I met some guys from Montreal who had some major cameras so they took some pictures for me


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb