When it rains it pours


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Coffs Harbour
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at Coffs Harbour at 6 in the morning but the hostel I was staying in didn't open until 9:30. I was allowed to wait in the common area/kitchen. As I was sitting at the kitchen table (a picnic table) eating my dry muselix with a fork (there were no spoons, and I had no milk) fighting a bird for my breakfast (there were no screens on the windows) a cockroach walked across the table and I wondered to myself if I should've shelled out the extra money to stay in a place that had an indoor washer and dryer (this hostel had laundry in the alleyway).
It rained all day but the rain here is warm and light so I walked around the botanical gardens for the morning. My favorite area was the sensory gardens (all herbs and aromatic flowers) with a light breeze I was constantly being hit with amazing smells.
After walking around the jetty I went to a sheltered dolphin show. Everything in Australia so far has been really interactive and I had a chance to pet the dolphins and feed them and feed the tiny penguins as well. I saw my first kangaroos, which were much smaller than I was expecting.
I met two boys from Adelaide in the hostel who are driving around australia together who invited me to drive up to Byron Bay with them (they had been travelling together for 3 weeks and were eager to talk to someone new) so I hopped in with them for the next leg of the trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb