Byron Bay and Nimbin


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
January 28th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

NimbinNimbinNimbin

The Small street of Interesting Shops!
Well this is going to be a long post, almost as long as the night bus journy to get here from Newcastle! We left there at 10 at night and arrived at 9 in the morning. What did we do on this lovely long journey well, Dave slept most of the time, and I got to watch him, then I moved into some free seats and treated myself to a nap, but then we stopped of at a service station so I hopped out to get some air and cover my skin with bite cream from the Bed Bugs (oh yeah I get onto that in a min) when I got back on ready to try another nap I discovered a swarm of beatle things around my seat, that was it I was at breaking point and almost in tears, I went back to my lovely seat to watch Davey Baby sleeping happily.

The Bed Bug fiasco
Well it all began in a crappy hostel in Sydney, our last hostel there was just fine except for the lovely little critters that attached themselves to us in the two nights we were there. At the time we was'nt sure, I had a few bites after the first night but asumed they were mossies, then by the second day we was a little confused by the placement of the bites as they would be found in little groups around my body Dave also discovered a few. Soon became aparent they liked my blood as they started to appear everywhere on my body and still not convinced we took them along with us to Port Stephens. It was during the wonderful bus journey where I got eaten alive that we finally came to the conclusion they were definatly bed bugs and they where comforably building themselves a home in our clothes both on our body and in our backpacks. After a rough count Dave had around 80 bites on his arms and I had around 200 bites including all limbs torso face and buttocks! Very uncomfortable experiance.


So after arriving at the Hostel at Byron Bay in agony from the bites and lack of sleep, we took all our clothes and anything that could be washed down to the laundrett. We spent most of our day there washing and drying our clothes including the ones we were wearing!

The next
Byron BayByron BayByron Bay

The Lovely Beach where we spent some time!
few days were spent enjoying the beach. The best thing about the hostel we stayed at was the location of the beach all we had to do was walk out the back across some train tracks over some sand and voila! a stunning beach with only a few people on it. We'd play in the water trying to jump the waves, but some where quite vicious and would just knock us down. But we still got up and tried again!

Nimbin - On one of the days we went on a day trip to Nimbin a small town inland, famous for its marijuana growing. It was very small and interesting too see, shop names such as Bringabong were very visable selling your usual camden/amsterdam bits and bobs. There was also an elderly hippy lady with long white hair; selling nice little bracelets on a stall and as you walk past her you hear her mentioning she also sells a good marijuana cake! We had a coffee there and then continued the bus tour to see how they make use of solar power out there and a really funky candle shop where you see them being made.

Australia Day - January 26th - We spent the day on the beach and then the evening in the pub doing what most ozzies do best on this day and drink the night away! There was also a cool band on which was fun to see.


Advertisement



13th February 2007

survivors
I never thought bedbugs could be so numerous and I hate to think about the pain! Dirty loos are one thing to be not looking forward to but being "eaten alive" by these creatures does really seem the extreme challenge. Hope you have both now recovered and got rid of all of them. I hope washing everything (back pack included I guess) will have got rid of your unwelcomed friends. Beach time seem to be a good compensation for your trouble. El you look great and seem to have survived too the chocolate fountain of your 5 stars hotel. Love to you both

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb