Rain rain go away, come again another day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
November 30th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blue MountainsBlue MountainsBlue Mountains

The only photo I managed to get before rain stopped play!
After lots of time chillin' in Sydney we actually got the chance to drive up to the Blue Mountains. Main reason being that we left our lovely flat in North Bondi at 10am.
We drove along the Parramatta road toward the mountains. It actually took us longer to get out of Sydney than it did to get to Wentworth falls.
When we arrived it was just starting to spit a little. So we got Ellie's mac out of the car, couldn't find Aisha's, and went for a walk. I stormed off to try and get a view of the falls and the valley before the rain made it impossible to see. After a bit Ellie was complaining like mad and Chloe couldn't see because of her glasses. Aisha and I continued. I can be a stuborn bugger at times, but I didn't drive all that way to sit in a car because of a bit of water falling out of the sky. I managed to get one decent picture before I decided that I should admit defeat.
We walked down to the viewpoint to find it shut due to it being unsafe. We walked toward the conservation hut. As we walked we came across some very noisy parrots and cockatoo's. Also some very pretty butterflies but due to the amount of rain I wasn't willing to get my camera out. As we walked along the side of the cliff I decided that having a 6 year old with me and the amount of water washing mud etc along the trail that we should turn round and go back to the car.
Just as we got to the car the level of rain trebbled. I threw the camera nad phone in the car and ran to the toilet. I then stood there and rang my fleece, tee shirt and hat out. At least a pint of water came out. I then waited until the rain had died a little and ran back down the waterfall that should have been the steps. We then all sat in the car with the heater on full blast and the demisted on, to try and get rid of the steamy windows.
I then drove back towards Sydney. I am glad that we didn't get stopped by the police as I was driving woth my shorts around my ankles and the heater on full blast so as not to get the seat to wet and to dry our shoes. I have never driven in such bad rain, the wipers were on super fast and it was still not getting rid of the rain quick enough. The drains couldn't cope either. I had the window open a bit to stop us dehydrating from the heat, and a a lorry came the other way just as we were driving through a small fjord. I got soaked again, well the kids thought it was funny.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb