Finally, the sea again...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Batemans Bay
February 7th 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had to get the 7:30am coach to Batemans bay yesterday...of course I slept most of the journey. The coach ended up going so slow down this really steep hill, I thought we were going to topple over! I arrived at the harbour and had to call the guy from the hostel to come and pick me up, along with this guy called Richard who I met in Canberra and a girl from Italy called Elina who I just met on the coach. The hostel was part of a caravan park, with a BBQ area and swimming pool. Everyone is just so friendly there, it's lovely 😊 The first day I walked to a wildlife park and saw my first Kangaroos! I fed them some food and had about 10 crowded round me! They are so cute...but not as sweet as the not so little koala bears. I thought they'd be alot smaller. They were on their tree being lazy and floppy..awwww...

The next day in Batemans Bay, me, Richard, Elina and this girl called Sabina from Germany went on a 6km bushwalk to Pebbly Beach. On our journey through the bush we saw a massive iguana! It was so big and was yawning! I think someone saw a little snake but I didn't, phew.... We arrived at Depot beach first and ate our lunch then moved on across 'heaps' of pebbles. It was so difficult to walk across them as it was sloped downwards. So I thought, I know what, I'll walk on the big rocks down by the water...then I nearly lost one of my thongs (flip flops) so I swiftly went back to stumbling across the pebbles. Hours later we arrived at the sandy part of Pebbly Beach where Elina and I fell asleep to the sound of the beautiful ocean...mmm perfect. Richard and Sabina went off to look for more kangaroos and returned with a tale of finding two in the middle of kangaroo love...

Last night we all left the bay and celebrated by having THE best fish and chips on the harbour. I am now in Narooma with Sabina in the best hostel so far...the room actually has a bathroom in it!! yessssssss 😊

Advertisement



8th February 2006

kangaroo steak and chips
Hey Sis, good to hear from you,its been a while...probably not but still missing you loads. Why are you doing walkabouts in your thong flops, why not use the shoes i bought you, you know those hiking boots, ideal for terrain ! glad you are still sounding happy and enjoying yourself and wow a bathroom in your room...paradise compared to cockroach fest hostel room i bet.! I bet the kangaroos are cool, but do me a favour and beat one with a stick, skin it and bring home as they make great football boots! Nice soft leather....can make you jump higher too! what do you miss most sis...ie wot comfort thing...is it soft toilet roll, bubble bath? im up for work now so look forward to your next edition....my little lot miss you and i was only talking to joshua about you this evening as we were singing to 64 zoo lane and your namesake is on it. love you soooo much lucy, take loads of care xxxx mmmmmmmmmmmmwah! PIB
8th February 2006

Memorable Times
Hi your time in Australia just sounds fantastic. What memories your gap year will have. Hey just thought of a great way to save thousands at Uni......you are now doing so much walking.....forget staying in halls.......walk in daily to Uni ?????? Please still TAKE CARE !!!! Love you mum xxx
8th February 2006

Kangaroo Love?
In the middle of kangaroo love? Were they sitting down either side of a candle lit table? Sucking on a bit of pasta that eventually meets up? (Lady and the Tramp style) Did they have an Italian guy singing? Did he have a guitar? Was he fat? Did the kangaroos go for a moonlit stroll afterwards, put their paw/feet things in the cement? Oh too many questions. Kangaroo love leaves the mind to boggle.
8th February 2006

hey lucy enjoyed reading your journal , Andy wants to know have you tried kangaroo steak yet he said there delicious. (yuk)Take care, Debxx
9th February 2006

Hi Lucy it so nice to see and hear what you are up to. It makes it seem that you are not so far away. Have you tried any more fruit? Love you lots dad
9th February 2006

Hey its the grandparents.
We are having your journal printed out for us to read,,and are really enjoying it, its lovely. We send our love, and do take care. Nanny and Grandad x
9th February 2006

koala bear
i really want to hug a koala bear, they look so lovely. hope you are well lucie lou. you sound like you are!! ha!
11th February 2006

Hi Lucy, Wow, everything sounds so amazing, I'm so glad you're having such a great time! Reading about your experiences is so great because it takes me off into another world imagining all the different things you are doing...but then I remember I'm in South-East London with another essay to write! Take care, lots of love Roma xxx
12th February 2006

what is kangaroo love?...
hi lucy, mum has read your journal to me but I dont know what kangaroo love is, can you explain?...could you please put a picture of a kangaroo on for me and Maddy. I typed this message to you myself. Happy travelling, we love you. Zak and Madison xx

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb