I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike...


Advertisement
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Poor little fishy...Poor little fishy...Poor little fishy...

On my bicycle ride I saw this fish from when it was coming out of the water in a seagulls beak, to it being pecked at visciously, and then it being smothered with flies...nice.
I am now in the capital of Australia, Canberra. So many people told me to not bother coming here as its boring etc, but it is lovely here. Yesterday I went to the national portrait gallery and made scrummy spinach pasta and chicken 😊 The journey from Wollongong to Canberra took about three and a half hours by coach. The route was straight first of all then suddenly all we seemed to be doing was climbing higher and higher on this massive hill, lots of twists and turns and very steep drops! I had to shut my eyes on some parts!
Today I hired a bike for the day so I could get about easier and ride alongside the lake. I'm pretty worn out as I've nearly ridden most of the Canberra it seems! So many people ride bikes around this area, espeically by the lake. Everyone smiles to one another and says hello or g'day which I find really nice 😊 I spotted a seagull today pecking at a little fish it had just brought out of the water. I tried taking a picture but it kept on hiding itself and the fish away from me! I rode all the way up to Capital Hill where the parliament building is and took a free guided tour there which was really interesting. Got to sit in the senate and representative sides of the building, unfortunately they wern't in session but still it was great to see how it's layed out. Had my lunch in the Queens Terrace, avocado and chicken wrap...I really am going way out on trying my fruits and vegetables. I now love avocado...still haven't tried that peach though, not so keen on the furryness of its skin...

Advertisement



3rd February 2006

Fruit!
Congratulations on all the new fruit tasting! am very impressed! Sounds like you are having an amazing time!
3rd February 2006

fish hospital
Hi wonderwoman why didnt you take the poor little fish to a fish hospital ? or if it really was dead you could have dug a hole and buried it,amen.
3rd February 2006

Stinky!
Wow, 2 journal logs in one day!! I have told Uncle Al to register so hopefully you'll be getting more comments back. Your photography is great, maybe follow the Oz flys that were on the fish and take a snap of them on a piece of tazmanian devil poo! Glad to hear your keepinhg up with the excercise and enjoying yourself. Really miss you and Lydia smiled yesterday by the way, probably wind though. Take care Sis xxxx mmmmmwah PIB
3rd February 2006

Peach?
I reckon you should try it. At least just to know what it's like... They are pretty juicy and tasty, however now you mention it, the whole furry skin thing is a little odd. I'm sure it will be fine though. It has to be done at some point. x
5th February 2006

Wonderful !
Its lovely to read your journal, glad you are enjoying yourself, take care, Love from NAN J x
5th February 2006

Told you so !!!!!!!
Hey how comes you have to go half way around the world before you start trying fruit!!!! about time! now what about salad....tomatoes.....parsnips......need I go on !!! by the way loved the fish photo ! love you mum xxx
5th February 2006

great photography!
Fantastic photo luc, I can't wait to see the album! You have definately got a bird/animal thing going on out there, maybe a career change could be in order on your return!! only 5 weeks until we see u - cant wait! Zak has started ju-jitsu today and maddy now does tap dancing. Take care honey L M Z M xxxx
6th February 2006

Envy you!
Have your journals up to date, so pleased you are having a wonderful time. Photos were lovely, Love Jean x

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb