Happy New Year


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Albury
January 1st 2011
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

We ( Lynda, Gavin and I) welcomed the new year in with a party with their friends from their airplane club. They were very friendly and fun.

We watched the city fireworks from their front veranda. Each area of the city had a display and we could see 3 of them. WE srarted in the house so we could see the ones from Sydney on the TV.

Yesterday, Lynda and I drove around the area and she showed me the areas around the 3 community centers that she manages. Then we drove out to a community called Beechworth that has been preserved as it was established in the early 1800's. It is very reminescent of some of the old communities like Capistrano in California. The buildings are of stucco. Instead of curbing and gutters along the sidewalks they have a 2' wide canal that have little bridges every so often so you can get from the street to the sidewalk and of course since I am no t used to carrying a camera with me I don't have a picture to show you.

WE have been going out in the mornings to drive arounnd the area and back home in the afternoon to work on Lynda's birthday party in the afternoon to get out of the heat. Her party is Saturday so I will get to meet more family and friends. I am looking forward to putting faces to the names that I have heard.

The day after the party we are going to leave Albury and I will get to see more of the area.

I will have some pictures to post later

Sorry that you are having the cold and the snow because I am enjoying the sun.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb