HAPPY NEW YEAR


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Albury
December 31st 2010
Published: December 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY NEW YEAR FROM AUSTRALIA
I arrived in Albury at 11:30 on 12/30 after losing a day crossing the International Date line. The trip was uneventful in the sense it went without a hitch. Albury is roughly 19 hours ahead of us in the Pacific time zonei

I had some very nice seat mates, one from London and one from southern Idaho. The one from London sat next to me in the waiting area and I didn't talk to him as I was visiting with a couple from Minnesota who after I got my seat assignment were sitting across the aisle from me, they were headed for Christchurch, New Zealand to visit there son who lives there. I am so glad I don't have to travel half way round the world to wisit my only son as they do.
The man from London dropped a coin so I gave it back to him and he was in the seat next to me when we got on the plane. nteresting since there were almost 400 of us on the plane.
In Sydney waiting area the woman who sat next to me was my seat mate when we got on the plane.

We have been out today showing me the city they live in which is very nice, would make you think of southern California. Albury population is about 40,000. Wadonga about 15 minutes away if 35,000 and the area total about 120,000. It seems funny to be halfway round the world and there is Target, Burger King, Starbucks and many others we can see at home.

The temperature for today and for the next several days will be in the 90's and possible to go over 100

We will be taking day trips form here so I will get the camera out and get it going so you will get to see some of what I am seeing and we get to go swimming, outside even


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb