onward I go


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Albury
December 27th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

...December 26th continued...
Driving, out the corner of my eyes, the salvation jane on the roadside blurs into a lush lavender hue, a peripheral expressionist painting.

Brown Mountain (a truck coupling bay)
Fog, mist, feeling the miniature rain drops on the car’s side. Struggling to see and steer around the wet windy roads, I'm slowing to less than 40km/hour and at only 9pm I need to stop for the night. the fog so thick tis hard to see anything other than immediately before the headlights. But eventually I find myself in a truck coupling bay, better safe than sorry I say. With many protective concerns and cautionary do’s & don’ts, I’m somewhat disconcerted when a car also pulls into the bay right behind me, sits for a while, open the doors and gets out, thereby becoming invisible to me in the thick foggy darkness of this night. At least I am locked in, and eventually they leave. I relax again. Ahh the life…..

December 27th
(Cooma) > Albury (Nanna town) > Wangaratta aka Wank & Splatter

This morning after, I discover the corpse of last night’s commotion, a poor ol’ roo met with their car in the fog, just near the truck coupling bay. There’s nothing for 35 km between historic Nimmitabel and Cooma. Something exquisitely unique about this landscape from any other… Nothing but golden grassy hay plains and telegraph poles - Richard you’d have loved it 😊 And just when I thought I had nothing left to write of…

Peace on Earth and mercy mild la la laaa la la la laaaa….. I am falling in love with Australia. Although never patriotic, my love for my country has always been by simple default, an assumption for my native country. Now though, I am enwrapped by the exquisiteness and preciousness of what I am seeing. Each new day brings me awe and joyous tears not far behind. Through Kosciusko National Park, Alpine Way to Albury - note: the LONG way! But by far worth it for the summer scenes of what is otherwise blanketed in snow.

Nanna & Pa I love you both. Yes, I have grown up. No longer do I run from your affections. I am humbled as your granddaughter and cherish every moment we have together. Thank you for your everything.


December 28th
Wangaratta

Glenno, duuude 😊 Wank & splatter has op shops at least *wink*. Great to catch up with you good man, your music will always move me and your cartoon ‘suggestion’ is now immortalised in my treasured collection of inspirational texts. Thoughts with you every time I hear ‘this night’…

Confest woohoooo… here I come!! But not before one of the best omelette’s ever to be eaten by moi (champion Glenno) and a very worthy CD burning exchange sess (minus the gremlins) 😉


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb