5 Days before Guatemala


Advertisement
North America
December 17th 2016
Published: December 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Friday's soccerFriday's soccerFriday's soccer

My eyeballs were following the soccer ball side to side, like a cat.
Today is the first day of a few weeks of vacation in the pharmacy program. I was too sleepy after yesterday's exam. I need to remember to not think too much the night before exams or I won't sleep well!
So I took a loong nap after that last exam, and then I woke up and looked out the window- it was already dark. I saw lights in the field across from my place, and saw some people running back and forth in the distance...soccer!! I didn't have any studying to do now, so I thought I better get some fresh air while I can. But it was dark- so I drove across the street. I saw people coming out of an opening in a gate and parked there. There were a lot of bleachers to sit on but not that many people. Way up in back on the top seats there were high school-looking kids shouting for their team. I sat right in front 😊 The players looked younger too, but they were playing really well!! They were doing a lot of the same tricks my uncle showed me with the soccer ball. And sometimes the ball would go so high in the air- like a rainbow- from one side of the field to another. And they used their heads a lot! Their skulls must have turned to steel! I took some pistachios out of my bag and ate while I watched. It started getting chilly so I drove back home after about an hour- there were a few other games going on in fields next to that one. Baseball by people maybe my age (I had no interest in watching that), and little kids playing flag football with flags around their waists and an American football.

Today I woke up before my alarm went off (that's ok I slept enough) and I got to the gym on time for Body Combat class! I punched the air as hard as I could and the instructor was really awesome, showing us the proper form and motivating us with her yelling and smiling when we felt the pain 😊 I decided to let myself do the Body Flow class after that (no studying to worry about!) and since I don't wear my cochlear implant to the gym (it goes flying- stupid magnet), I had to set up my mats next to this instructor so I could see better- and I put them against the wall so I could lean on that when I couldn't balance. This class is like yoga. The instructor hadn't met me before, I don't think, and she didn't know I'm deaf while she was trying to tell me to back up and set my mats up somewhere in front of her instead. I let her know I'm deaf and if she had any other ideas of what I could use for balance instead of the wall. She was then ok with me being there. I'm not going to lie and say I wasn't feeling awkward at first up there next to the instructor, but I tried to focus on having good posture, and most people didn't seem to care anyway. It was a relaxing class towards the end, and I felt great after.

I came home and remembered that I better take advantage of the jacuzzi while I don't have to study!! So I put on a swimsuit and brought a book and a bottle of water and went to the jacuzzi. When it got too hot, i sat on the edge of the other (cold) pool and splashed myself a little- it was awesome, almost no one was there. I read some of my book and then I was hungry, so I came home again and now I'm about to cook an Iranian dish called Ghormeh Sabzi- the recipe is on "mypersiankitchen.com" yum yum


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb