Summer Vacation to Alaska


Advertisement
North America
July 1st 2015
Published: July 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today is my last day of work before our summer vacation. I am still working in Atlanta, Ken has our RV In Asheville, spending the summer with Lola. I commute each weekend to Asheville. Lola has already been busy this summer. She went to Alaska with Jason and Amy- visiting Amy's family. She did a week of Science camp at the NC Arboretum. Other days are spent helping Pops work at the RV park, swim and meet new friends.

Pops and Lola drove down to Atlanta and met me at my hotel. We went to dinner at Atlanta Fish Company. I have been fighting a clogged ear and sinus pressure for about a week. I had gone to Urgent Care in Asheville and the Doc there said my ears looked perfect. He gave me a steroid shot and sent me on my way. I continued to feel worse as the week progressed. Ken insisted I go to Urgent Care after dinner in Atlanta. We are flying to Seattle tomorrow and getting on a cruise to Alaska on Saturday. I don't want to be sick the whole time. We found an Urgent Care that was open for 40 more minutes so we drove straight there. The moment I walked in everything just went right (rare in Urgent Care). Even though I walked in a few minutes before closing time the front desk was very friendly and kind. I was called back right away. The doctor came in, I told him my symptoms and he looked in my ears and said they were both acutely filled with fluid. I told him I was going on a cruise and he gave me antibiotics, oral steroids, cough medicine, Flonase, motion sickness patches, Zyrtec D. He was making sure I had everything I need! He asked me what I was doing so far from Tucson. We chatted awhile and found out his daughter works for the same consulting company as I do. He gave me his cell number and told me to text him so he can share my info with his daughter.

We went to Walgreens to get the meds. They were out of 2 of them. They tried to call the Urgent Care to speak to the doctor but of course they were closed. I thought-I have his cell..so I texted him and told him about the two drugs they were out of and gave him Walgreens number. He immediately called Walgreens and ordered some alternatives; texted me back and said to have a good trip!! Wow- he will be my doctor in Atlanta.

We headed back to the hotel to say 'goodbye' to most of my consultant colleagues whose contract ends tomorrow. It was sad to say goodbye -we have all been working together since January 5 and some of us longer. I hate goodbyes!

We went up to the room and went to bed. Tomorrow is a long day.

Advertisement



4th March 2019

Card Night
Good to hear from you. The lot looks beautiful. Larry/Henna are in town and guys are having cards at J/J Kochur's house. I'm having girls over for dinner and a fun card game. Want to come?! Just know you are missed. New neighbor in Jackie's house and new neighbor in Ken Anders house also joined the 'boys in the hood'. Mary Strzalka PS: Did your cell phone #'s change. Can you share?
5th March 2019

Hello!
Tell everyone we said hi! We miss everyone too but enjoying Lola, Olivia and Ava. Our cell numbers are still the same. Ken- 520-907-6001, Me- 520-907-6002

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.7kb