How to survive in 110 degrees, Phoenix Arizona


Advertisement
North America
September 3rd 2014
Published: September 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

For most people, a warm vacation is desired and dreamed of. That's not highly the case when it is 110 degrees weather for a number of days. Prior to our arrival in Phoenix I was told that it had not hit 100 that whole week...... We must have arrived from Minnesota with some high hopes for sunshine which we sure got! I would say this trip to Phoenix was filled with the two F's..... Family and food. Upon arrival, my dad and I met up with Grandma and an aunt at Paradise Bakery. Little did I know unail this visit that Paradise Bakery has been bought out by Panera Bread. it was easy to tell by the apperance and style of Paradise Bakery that it was a relative to Panera.

Thursday evening we were lucky enough to partake in the adventures of an ASU game with our family members who are season ticket holders! This was the season opener game so my uncle told me it was 'low' attendance for the game. Coming from a college I went to which was division 3 (UW Stout Blue Devils) any college football game will look like high attendance. The ASU mascot is the sun devil, where as Stout was a Blue devil, so I was still rooting for a Devil team! It was easy to tell that ASU had some dedicated fans when there was tailgating being held in the parking garage across from the stadium. I was also happy to have my 9 year old cousin by my side teaching me about each football play being made during the game..... No guarantee any of that knowledge of his stuck in my head but it was impressive to see how well he knows his football, and ASU players!

Just so all of you reading this are aware, most of the following will involve food blogging. If you have an upcoming trip to the Scottsdale area of Phoenix and would like to know some must try food joints, read on. Or if simply interested in my blogging read on too 😊 Good eats is the best way to survive the heated weather in Arizona.

I am a total brunch lover and always am up for trying out the local brunch joints when I travel (even when not traveling as Well, brunch is an often weekend activity.) Brunch with the family on Friday morning was at Perk Eatery, a local organic eatery that was also featured in Diners, Drive In's and Dives. I enjoyed the Would I go again? Absolutely.

Most of you have heard of In and Out Burger which is located only in some southern states. This joint is on must go lists each time we are down here visiting family. The speical sauce it one of the ingredients which makes the burgers taste so delicious. Many in and outers think thst the special safe is thousand island dressing.

Another must go to brunch spot in Scottsdale is Chompies. This is a restaurant that has a wide selection of Jewish goods from matzo ball soup to potatoe pancakes. The menu is lunch and breakfast items and is a great family friendly location. I personally love going for the breakfast omlettes and French toast made on fresh challah bread.

If you are a Mexican food lover than it is necessary to always hit up some local Mexican food when you are in Arizona, after all this state does share a border with Mexico. Our family brought us to the local Uncle Tios which is a total authentic experience for eating Mexican food. I enjoyed a ceviche tostada and some chicken tacos.

I now sit in the airport terminal and am ready to board a flight back to Minneapolis at 11. Let me tell you that our journey to fly back home has been quite delayed. If the flight I was suppose to be on flew out at the appointed time I would have been home at 11 last night. Due to crew overwork and technical problems the flight has been delayed 4 times. I have strong hopes that this flight will take off on time. I have already written a frustrated customer email to Delta airlines.

I hope my blog entry most about food has left all of your mouths drooling for an in and out burger or some ceviche tostadas. Either way, mKe sure to check our Arizona in your travel journeys at some point! I have also ventured to the Grand Canyon in a past Arizona travel.

Happy Wednesday and I leave you with wishes for a few more days of sunshine wherever you may be!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb