A2 RIHLA #22


Advertisement
North America
April 6th 2013
Published: April 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tell Me a Story: Why do I want to travel?

The year was 2009. Summer. I was not in the US; I was in the Philippines, partaking in a journey to the past. It is not my past, rather, the rich history of my homeland. It was quite amazing how two places can tell you MANY things about where you come from, many things about what happened there before the time of your birth. I was definitely astonished.

My family lives not far from the country's capital city, Manila, meaning we are in the island of Luzon, the northern island of the country. Our two destinations are farther north than where we live, and we travel there by road. The six of us packed into a car, heading north, to explore our country and understand its beauty.

Our first destination, primarily because it is closer to home than the other, is Baguio, Philippines. Baguio, as any Filipino would argue, is one of the colder regions of the country due to its location up in the mountains. Baguio is also a very preserved city because of its location. Many of the locals still continue traditions passed down from generation to generation. Deep within the mountains, there are tribes still practicing rituals, believing in gods of nature, and living simply. Though the city that actively engages tourists is more urban compared to the mountainside, it is still able to show us just how culturally rich it is. We were able to engage with locals, take in the greatness of the place, and embrace the green surroundings.

After a night at a cheap hotel in Baguio, we headed off to Vigan City, Philippines, which, I would argue, is far more interesting when it comes to its history. Not long after our arrival in Vigan, we were able to see the famous Bantay Belfry, or the city's watchtower important not only historically but also culturally. The Bantay Belfry is also a bell tower, used in World War II to alert against incoming enemies using the bell as the signal. As we climbed the stairs to the top, where the bell was located, we were also able to take a panoramic view of the city, with the mountain ranges visibly magnificent. Across from the tower was St. Augustine church also filled with history and importance to the Spaniards.

I was lucky enough to be able to take on a journey such as those, and I was able to realize that there is more to the country than I realize, and I would love to travel, explore every corner of every place in the country to learn more about my homeland and what it has to offer. That road trip allowed me to look at the world differently and see that each travel story that I would like to tell in the future should have a moral, or show some form of epiphany at the very least. In this journey, I discovered that though I love and embrace my culture and where I come from, I am deeply uneducated about it. It has become one of my life's goals to travel all around the country, not only to benefit me as a traveler, but also to benefit others as viewers/listeners or even participants of my travels.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb