Death Drive to Dallas


Advertisement
North America
September 20th 2012
Published: September 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek! We started off for Dallas this morning, finding our way onto Interstate 35 from San Antonio. Little did I know that it would be Perdition Road. All RVer's......heed my warning - DO NOT TAKE THIS HORRIBLE EXPRESSWAY. It makes I- 95 (especially in the Washington, D.C.area) seem like a cow path! It was like being on a NASCAR/airplane runway packed side by side like sardines as far as you could see with Semi's going 95 mph totally encircling us like hungry hyenas - can you see this picture? The traffic was unbearable and unbelievable .....and it never let up. And it was only going to get so much worse. After I moaned, groaned, screeched, screamed, frothed at the mouth, yelled, took double doses of my blood pressure pills and almost passed out (remember I am only the passenger, not the driver), Cory finally turned the steering wheel that had his hands clamped permanently around it and got off this death route somewhere around Austin, Texas. If my hair wasn't already white, it would be now. Even Lulu was speechless and frozen! After breathing into a brown bag for a half hour, I was able to regain some composure and plot
SunsetSunsetSunset

Somewhere
out another side route which would take us up to the Fort Worth area. It was a million times better.....very little traffic and we cruised along the roadway with a song back in our hearts instead of a bayonet jammed through our hearts. Obviously, we have not landed in Dallas, itself.......only a crazy person would want to do that....we are at a KOA in Weatherford, Texas near Fort Worth. The city center of Dallas is 60 miles away....good! We shall travel by car tomorrow to go into the city to visit the Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza. Even with the car, it will be hairy but nothing like what we would be dealing with in the RV. I am still shaking (remember I am only the passenger). Even though Cory likes the quickest route to our destination, I think he was relieved to take this side path. If nothing else, it shut me up. The scenery was what the pictures of Texas show....miles, miles and more miles of pasture land with an occasional monster sized Ranch House. I always wonder where they go for groceries.

Not much to photograph unless you wanted to see me in a hysterical state with my hair standing straight out like I was being electrocuted. Actually, I found a Great Clips place and had my hair cut as it did seem to become quite wild looking......appropriate for how I felt. Even the sunset is just a photo I found.....but it looks like what we are looking for each night. Fortunately, we are still alive to keep looking.

Advertisement



20th September 2012

I 35
The section of I35 you were on is the absolute worst in the country. Hopefully you got off of it south of Austin because it is a death waiting to happen inside the city. US 81 and it's tributaries are the ones I use in Taehas.
20th September 2012

Which Road
Now you tell us....it was sooooooo bad. When we leave here, heading to Brabson but looks like we have to go to Okl.City....how is that expressway from Fort Worth up?
20th September 2012

Sorry, Didn't realize you were going from SATX to FtWTX
Well if you add Enid to your stop (we have the redheaded grandsons here this weekend) US 81 is the best way that way. Otherwise I recommend the US highways that would end in Ft Smith Arkansas and on to an awesome 4 lane to Walmart HQ, then any route east to Branson. In OK I recommend stopping at Beavers Bend State park and Robbers' Cave State park (It's better than Rock City near Olean.) Lulu seems to get along with creatures and western types. haha.
21st September 2012

Thanks
Appreciate your advice and direction. I came down with a cold today ...in 90 degree weather??!?....so wouldn't be good company but thanks for thinking of us.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.6kb