Rihla #27 (Clubs/Organizations)


Advertisement
North America
April 27th 2012
Published: April 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

. RIHLA #27– Explore the student activities/clubs offered at the college you are planning to attend (or ones that you interested in) and describe 1-3 student groups that you would consider joining and WHY. The point of this is to start thinking about what your particular fight is…what are you most passionate about?



1.Cooking Club

This club allows any student interested in cooking to learn or teach. I am considering joining this so that I can learn to be independent from my mothers cooking and to prevent myself from buying take-out everyday. Also, the club does not focus on one type of food. Rather, cuisines from different cultures will be included.

2. Hispanic Student Dental Association

This association is a community of Hispanic graduate and undergraduate students that are persuing a career in dentistry. This group provides support and advising for hispanic students. I would join this association becuase I am considering a career in dentistry. I know that not many Hispanic students choose to take this path. By joining this group, I would gain extra knowledge from students already attending the university. I can also learn to encourage more hispanic youth to persue a career.

3. Up 'till Dawn

This is a student led and student-run organization. Its purpose is to support St. Jude Children's Hospital. Memeber participate in undraising activities. They also learnabout St. Jude patients and the mission of the hospital. Although I do not suffer from cancer, I know the feeling when you need treatment but cannot afford it. There are many children that are going through worse circumstances than what I went through. I having equal opportunity, especially in terms of life. I want to join this group because I want to be part of saving a child's life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb