RIHLA #23


Advertisement
North America
March 21st 2012
Published: March 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

It is not the good times in life that make a person who they are, it is the hard times. The hard times are what show how strong a person is. The hard times are what make you who you are. This I know all too well. When I was in the 6th grade, my mother started to lose her hair and she was later diagnosed with Alopecia Areata. This is a disease that causes baldness. This combined with the kidney disease that she had created many health problems for her. This also caused her to be in a lot of pain.

As a young child it is hard to watch the person you care for most go through a hard time like this. I remember sitting with my brother on the bathroom floor when my mom asked my dad to cut the rest of her hair off. My whole family stayed together and as my dad turned on the clippers and took all of my mothers hair off we became closer as a family. It was a bitter sweet moment. It was bitter because I was sad that she had to get rid of something that is so valuable and personal to a woman. It was sweet because now it is a part of who she is, and I don’t know if my mother would be the same if she hadn’t gone through that experience. That signified a new chapter in our lives and it made us all stronger.

Although this was a struggle that I had to deal with this was only one of the struggles in my life that impacted me. I am sure that their will be many more hurdles that I will have to go through in the future. However, when you make mistakes or find yourself in tough situations you learn from them. This is important because it can allow you to know how to deal with these difficult situations in the future and it will hopefully help you build strong character. Although I had to find a way pass that struggle it helped me learn to cherish the moments in life, and caused me to reevaluate my relationships and live today like there is no tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.525s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb